What Lead Me to Find What I Love to Do

in #life7 years ago

0910161352-1.jpg
I want to tell you all how I came about finding my hobby! I first want to give you a little background on my childhood so you'll understand why finding this was such a relief for me:

My mom and I lived alone most of my life. I didn't have siblings around and we weren't close to any family. My mom had her own set of serious problems and I was never encouraged to DO anything. I was never encouraged to go outside, to make friends at school, to join athletics, to go to after school events, nothing. I went to school, came home, cleaned our house and then listened to music with my door closed until I fell asleep... Every single day.

I couldn't relate to the girls at school because they were all in athletics and I was in P.E., they were wealthy, in church, and treated me like a freak because I didn't have a "normal" home life like most of them did.

I was a hermit crab. I specifically remember one year I would sneak away to the bathroom during lunch and stand in the stall until it was time to go back to class because I felt so intimidated and hated by my peers for being different.

When I came home everyday, I didn't have anything to occupy my brain...which led me to think about how dark my life was, and led to deep, severe depression.

That depression then led me to unhealthy relationships with boys who were way too old for me and ended up making me spiral deeper into depression.

Side note: the father of my baby is not one of those guys I just referred to - he is fantastic, treats me like a princess and I love him endlessly.

SO, when I was nineteen and pregnant with my daughter, I was going insane. I was so bored. I didn't know what I was good at because I never tried anything. I was always a braniac, always wanting to learn, read, and write, but other than that I just lacked talent. I was working as a receptionist at the county hospital and there was a lot of down time. My boss kept telling me to bring something I enjoy doing to work to help kill time. I didn't HAVE anything.

There was, however, one thing I was able to do several times growing up that I never forgot. We went to the Renaissance faire almost every year. This faire is called Scarborough Faire in Waxahachie, Texas, a city near Dallas. It's open for one month every year from April to May.

Growing up and attending the faire, I was always mesmerized by the art that surrounded me. I could not process how humans created all those different treasures simply using their bare hands. If you have never been to a Renaissance festival, you NEED to attend one. You will be blown away by the talent that not only the vendors, but the live acts possess.

There was a vendor at the faire I would purchase a ring from every year. I always purchased the same ring from her every single year - just in a different color. They were only $6 and I thought the simple detail and wire work were incredibly beautiful.

I got to thinking: why not try to make beautiful rings like I've seen at the faire? Maybe I could even be a vendor someday!

So I went to Michael's, bought some beads and a roll of wire and I just started making stuff. Within weeks I was making rings, ear cuffs, necklaces, keychains, etc. I opened at Etsy store and was doing very well at first. Then I couldn't pay my Etsy bill because #poorpeopleproblems. 😂 So my store is on hold for now... But I would love to show you some stuff I've made.

I am no where near as talented as the vendors at the faire, but for someone who never tried to make anything in the past and taught herself, I think I'm on a great track. I find joy, peace, and contentment when I make things.

These are a couple rings I've made:

IMG_20170512_234146_308.jpg
I can honestly say I've never seen rings like mine, even at the faire. I hope one day we'll be in a place financially where I can buy enough supplies to make a ton of them and apply to be a vendor.

These are a couple amethyst rings I made, and yes they are genuine amethyst crystals. 😊
Screenshot_2017-04-14-17-48-25-1.png
IMG_20170512_033707_444.jpg
IMG_20170512_034133_871.jpg

I sold a lot of these necklaces last year. I wire wrap a charm to a vial and then fill the vial with stones of my customer's choice. Most people choose their birthstone, others choose what they think is pretty, and I've had a few people pick stones according to what healing power they're supposed to have. I don't usually tell my customers that stones have healing powers because I don't know if they do or don't - but I've had a lot of people choose their stone based on that belief. My personal favorite is orange calcite, which is shown in the picture with the sun charm!
Screenshot_2017-04-14-17-49-44-1.png
Screenshot_2017-04-14-17-48-54-1.png
The elephant vial is filled with rose quartz.

This is a matching set with a ring and an ear cuff. I think this is one of my favorite things I've made so far.
Screenshot_2017-04-14-17-49-15-1.png

And another ear cuff:
Screenshot_2017-04-14-17-49-09-1.png

And here's a few other things I've made. 😊
Screenshot_2017-04-14-17-48-03-1.png
Screenshot_2017-04-14-17-47-51-1.png
1214160950c.jpg
Screenshot_2017-04-14-17-47-43-1.png
1126161553g.jpg

I know my jewelry isn't for everyone, but it's very special to me. I try to reflect the Renaissance/Gothic theme as much as I can while still making my items look girly.

I hope you guys enjoyed learning about my hobby and I would love to learn about what you do for fun in the comments! Thank you so much if you've read this far.

Sort:  

I like your jewelry creations! The ones with the moon and bats are my favorite. I hope you are able to get back into business. I guess the issue is having money to buy the materials you need to make the pieces?

I listen to music in my room a lot, and I find that to be fun. I also get out to shoot pool, listen to local bands, play poker and soon I'll be swimming and playing water volleyball in the pool. Looking forward to summer fun!

Hi!!! Thank you for responding to my post! Surprisingly, the pieces with the moon and the bat earrings are my favorite, too! I'm big on anything that has a crescent moon. I have one that I wire wrapped a rainbow quartz crystal to that I kept for myself and it gets a lot of attention.

Yes, the biggest issue with staying in business is having money to keep up with supplies. I make GOOD money with my jewelry... The problem is that my family has been plagued with some kind of bad luck and instead of investing any of the money, it all went to emergencies. Now that we hit our rough patch, we are still recovering and I'm not able to purchase supplies yet. I have faith that things will change eventually.

I still listen to music in my room and I love it! What kind of music do you like? I used to love going to shows and listening to bands and meeting my favorites! I haven't been in awhile, though. I'm basically an old lady now. 😂 Omg I am horrible at pool! My hand-eye coordination is pathetic. I'm sure it's amusing to watch me try to play. Also, despite being a clutz, I do LOVE pool volleyball!!!!! I think that's one of my favorite things to play in the summer! I hope you have a ton of fun this summer!

I like your story and the jewelry looked so beautiful! You are so passionate about your hobby. Well, I like spending time baking simple and healthy sweets. Thank you for sharing.

Hello and thank you so much! My jewelry is just special to me because it makes me feel unique. 😀 How long have you been baking? I wanted to try baking so badly, but I was too impatient... 😩

Have been baking since 8 years ago. At first, I made lots of mistakes then when my husband told me it was delicious...This has been the biggest motivation and I truly enjoy baking. So start with the easiest ingredients. It is never too late to give it a try. All the best!

I made lots of mistakes, too, when I first started making rings! My sweetheart actually was making them with me to spend time with me and neither of us knew what we were doing. It was so sweet of him, though! I'll bet you bake amazing things!😍 Thank you for your encouragment.

They are wonderful works of yours !! I'm also a fan of Amerhyst and I've been looking for him often in the forest. It is a magnificent stone.

Cool rings.

Very interesting hobby @nataleejean!

Thank you so much. :-) You make very interesting posts! I'm convinced you're crazy for getting so close to that tarantula!!!!!!! Haha.

Glad you enjoy it!

Also, thanks for being real and honest. It can really bless others. Steem on!

Rocks are so pretty! It's amazing that they are just in the ground, waiting to be found and appreciated. You've really enhanced their beauty, too!

Thank you so much!!! I feel the same way. It's crazy that something so pretty can be dug up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57544.69
ETH 3114.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42