10 Inexpensive Ways to Add Pizzazz to Your Home

in #life7 years ago (edited)

tumblr_static_tumblr_static__640.jpg

Do you ever look around your home and wish it had a little more personality? Are you stuck trying to brainstorm inexpensive ways to make your space more visually appealing?

Today I'm going to talk about 10 inexpensive ways to add both personality and color to your home!

1. One of my favorites: CRYSTALS! I'm talking amethyst, clear quartz, calcite, topaz, citrine, peridot, rose quartz, rubies, emerald, flourite, etc.! You can do so many things with them.
239133_M.jpg
271752_M.jpg

If you have an empty shelf, lay some crystals on the shelf out in the open next to some books, flowers, picture frames, or seashells.

I personally display mine next to my essential oils!

Another way to decorate with crystals is to find a clear glass bowl and add a variety of crystals to it. If you can, add some sand to the bottom.

I used sand from a Pensacola, FL vacation.

On top of the sand, add all of your favorite crystals and maybe even some seashells if you have any. Try to display the bowl near a window so the sun can shine and show the beautiful, natural colors! Soil can easily replace sand and might even look better!

You can usually find stones and crystals at rock shops and oddities stores, but if you live in the country like me, those places are few and far between. Here's a link to the guy on Etsy I usually purchase my crystals from - His prices are fantastic and I have used his amethyst crystals to make jewelry for over a year now. Here's a few rings I made with his stones:

Screenshot_2017-04-14-17-48-25-1.png
IMG_20170512_034133_871.jpg
Stones are probably the most natural, purest way you can add beauty and color to your home!

2. Strap a vase to a small board, nail it to the wall, and fill it with flowers! This way they're not taking up unnecessary space and you have more wall decor! Of course you can easily purchase flowers at any grocery or drug store, but if you're feeling adventurous you can always go for a quiet walk and find your own flowers. 😊

Here's a screenshot of some affordable listings I found on Etsy if you're not in a DIY mood:
Screenshot_2017-05-27-03-30-22-1.png

If you do enjoy crafts, here's a link to a tutorial I found using a wine bottle for a vase

Oh, if you don't want to worry about picking petals up off the floor, consider purchasing wooden flowers. They are so incredibly beautiful and will last forever if you treat them with love!

Here's the link for these wooden roses on Amazon51qF6GfA6-L._SY400_.jpg

3. Repurpose and paint an old piece of furniture a funky color!

There are a few inexpensive ways you can do this. If you have furniture such as a dresser or a coffee table that could use a paint job, fantastic! If not, I suggest starting with the "free stuff" tab on Craigslist. If nothing pops up, you can head over to the virtual yard sale pages on Facebook and look for old furniture people are selling. Usually someone will sell something that has paint scratched off or a shelf missing, etc., and will sell it for cheap. Take advantage of their old piece of junk, fix it up, and paint it a groovy color!!!

This is what my fiance's Aunt Chelle does with her furniture. 😀
10346114_927365214013992_5948231185594530968_n.jpg
These are two different pieces.996500_478683165548868_2032339327_n.jpg

If you're artistically challenged - I am, too - just paint it a solid color. No need to show off. Haha!

4. Make a wreath for your front door! (Or buy one.)

Here are a few examples, again from Etsy.
Screenshot_2017-05-27-04-05-52.png

And here is a list of several DIY tutorials 😊:

5. Essential oils! This one won't add color, but can definitely add personality to your home. If you don't have an essential oil diffuser - neither do I - don't worry. Fill a pot with water, add your favorite oil to it and let it boil on the stove until the water completely evaporates. You will not believe how intense and long lasting the smell will be! Lemon and peppermint oils are my personal favorites, but I also mix oils. I love doing this when I clean the kitchen because it makes the whole apartment smell clean!
9a5ff7f8e2358ac14a7429b93a5b9ee2.jpg

6. DIY wine bottle lamps. Search for them on Pinterest! There are so many tutorials that I've yet to try myself, but this is next on my list!
Screenshot_2017-05-27-04-17-34-1.png
I love them SO MUCH!!!

As usual, if you're not feeling crafty they're always available on Etsy!

7. They're not for everyone, but TAPESTRIES! They're a sure way to add personality to your walls, your bed, windows, and so on.

Amazon listing
61U+bIa8qiL._SY400_.jpg

Another
81T03BI80RL._SL1500_.jpg

8. String lights with photo clips

Pick an empty wall. Hang these lights. Go to Walmart or Walgreens. Print your favorite photos at the kiosk. Hang them on the clips. Show off your favorite memories! This is such a sweet idea that's much more inexpensive than buying several dozen picture frames to hang on the walls.
714CeHq-tGL._SL1500_.jpg
Here's the link

9. Add some indoor plants to your space! Hang them from the ceiling, put them in corners, use them as table decor... Or build your own terrarium!!! Do what you can to add natural beauty to your home.

Screenshot_2017-05-27-04-51-40-1.png

Finally 10. Go to local festivals and search online for handmade paintings! Avoid purchasing paintings from mass retailers - thousands of other people are decorating their walls with those same paintings. Find someone who does their own work - this guarantees your piece will be one of a kind. Here's a very old, somewhat distorted painting that someone made for me years ago. It even has my initials painted on it!
599697_389836291080602_2059922765_n-1.jpg
This was painted by the same person. Where have you seen something similar?! Buy local!
558575_368738066523758_105515098_n.jpg

If you've made it this far, I want to thank you so much for reading about my 10 inexpensive ways to add some pizzazz to your home. I tried to include things that could be masculine, too. I hope you guys enjoyed reading this as much as I enjoyed writing it! I hope you have a wonderful Saturday!
tumblr_n5c2k26ftc1t8a8yio1_500.gif

Sort:  

Nice ideas to make your house attractive to the senses! Thanks for sharing! :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57440.82
ETH 3108.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42