You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Part 6 – La Gonâve, Haiti - A Vision of Regeneration for a Degraded Land and Impoverished People

in #life8 years ago

This is a very interesting story. You get a true sense just how materially deprived these people are, and the ramifications, especially for the children, and it is a hard thing to confront and deal with. The issue of extreme inequality would have to be one of the key global issues.

Sort:  

Thank you very much @naquoya. I appreciate you following along.
I really wrestled with what sort of involvement I would want to have. They're constantly asking me to help with this child or that surgery. But I can only do a little. On the other hand, I wanted to do a lot. And I tend to have long-term vision for things. So I started trying to find a way to really help the people to rise above their circumstances in a way that would be multigenerational. I didn't feel like taking a short-cut on this series and just getting to my ideas on how that might be accomplished would do it justice. What excites me about this project is that they'll actually be the ones doing it. If we can pull it off, years from now they can look back on the work they've done and reflect on the fact that they didn't do this with handouts. They built it. They own it. And now they and their progeny will enjoy the fruits of their labor.
I'll get to that in a couple days or so. :)

I'm glad you didn't cut to the chase. The background to it all is important for context and understanding. I hear what you're saying about helping in such a way as to grant them the ability to help themselves. The best form of help. But just so difficult to know you can't help all of them right now. Thanks for sharing the story.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60510.42
ETH 2615.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60