Its a Wonderful Life - A movie that is looks like Steemit

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Every once in a year, we all go through a phase where we are totally defeated by something and will be depressed or sad. It could be your job, your relationship or your own decisions which caused this. You feel like all the bad things in life is happening only to you. You feel like gods in heaven are making fun of you and laughing at you by giving you one obstacle after another, there's no time for you to even breathe. You start to feel your life is over.

Whenever this happened to me I take a magic pill. No, this its not an anti-depressant or pain killing drugs. I watch the movie "It's a Wonderful Life". This 1946 Frank Capra's movie is probably the last thing you will watch when your life gets too hard. It really gives you an interesting perspective on how to handle problems.



Its been a week I joined Steemit and started writing here, and it feels like a gift to me. I revived my love for writing and also getting to learn something new everyday from this amazing community. This is the only platform in the internet where there is more value to knowledge than cat videos or funny viral videos. I was watching the same movie yesterday. I realized, both Steemit and the movie "It's a Wonderful Life" have a lot in common.



Both Steemit and the movie "It's a Wonderful Life" are trying to deliver the same message to the people who is into it. In this post I'll try to tell few of the lessons I learnt about these two thing.

Providing value to the community, makes you more valuable in the community:

In the movie George Bailey, who is lead character played by the fantastic James Stewart is a son of a bank owner. After his fathers death he gives up his dream of becoming a traveler and an explorer and takes over the bank which will be failing. He gives up his saved money to pays the customers and sacrifices everything for the well being of the community.



By, doing so the people or the community will love George. The entire community will be friends with George. Even here in Steemit, I see the community is always giving value to people who are valuable. Which is very rare in other platforms. Most of the time value is given to people who... you know what I am saying. 


I don't know for sure if I have provided value. But, whenever I see some one telling good things about my posts I feel motivated, and its very good during a bad day.

 Your success is your community's success:

In the movie George will be facing a lot of problems, he will be about to get arrested. Finally he decides to die, but instead he gets a wish from his guardian angel Clarence. George wishes he had never been born. When the wish is granted, he sees his entire town becoming a mess because of his absence. His town will be filled with criminals, hookers and drugs. He realizes, if he had born he could have saved his town.



So, If you be good and provide value to people around you you will become successful, but with your people will also become successful. The movie teaches us to not run away from out problems, but to face them. Because, absence of you may effect someone else's life. 

Here's in Steemit I experience the same thing. When you write a good content you will be benefited, but people who liked you content will also be benefited.


Being alive is the greatest gift of all:


In the end George wishes he was alive so that things go back to normal. His wish will get granted and he will be very happy. He runs across the street happily, there will be cops waiting to arrest him. He will be very thankful for being alive. He would be needing 8000$ to save his business and not get arrested.



Finally, his entire community will come forward to help him. All his friends around him will donate him the money he needed. The reason is that George had added so much value to other peoples lives that they all came forward to help him. 



Even here in Steemit I see many people helping each other. And here you won't be sad. because people here care for who you are. The community welcomes the new comers with a lot of respect. It makes all feel good to be alive. 



In the end I want to tell, this one week had been great, I definitely see myself posting here for years . I would recommend you to watch the movie. Also, leave a comment so that I can know what you think about this post. Thank you for reading. Cheers! 



-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

You may also like my other recent posts,

What " Looney Tunes " can teach us about film making .

5 terrible mistakes you might make while shooting your first indie feature film.

Follow me @nandan

Sort:  

Great analysis of the film, and I loved how you compared it to Steemit.

And yes – I highly recommend everyone watch this movie! It's inspiring.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58431.17
ETH 2653.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44