How to avoid feeling burnt out at work? 👊🏼

in #life7 years ago (edited)

IMG_7445.JPG

source

A lot of people feel burnt out at work because they don't enjoy what they do. I sometimes get that feeling but there're ways to avoid the feeling or at least slow it down. So I've gathered some methods I've been using since college and now that I'm in the workforce.

1. Do what you love anyways

Too many people are doing the jobs they hate, therefore it's easy to get burnt out from your work and the task assigned to you. If you are doing what you love then good for you because even though you might be performing boring task, but I the end, you get to do what you actually care about.

However, not everyone is lucky or have the choices available to them at that time.

What have been helping me is to still do what you love anyway in your spare time to keep your life exciting and happy. It doesn't have to be a job but it can be what you enjoy such as eating, seeing your best friends, or going for a run.

IMG_7443.JPG

source

2. Hobbies help

Hobbies has helped me tremendously. Often after work, I would go to a bookstore or a library to find some good books to read. Sometimes I would play the piano, or go biking. I would also go on trips during weekends, with family or friends. It helps you keep things, such as stress, off your mind.

IMG_7444.JPG

source

3. Exercising

This is what I don't do enough and I need to get back on track. Exercising definitely helps me forget about what my mind is at, and let me only use the body. Even though I might not enjoy it as much while I do it but I always feel great after being active after sitting at a desk all day. It makes me happy and feel good about myself.

4. Learn new things

After work, I would come home and often read articles or watch YouTube videos about what I'm interested in. It could be about starting an online business, investments, health and balance. Learning new things make you feel excited about the new skills you're gaining and it makes you more valuable and knowledgeable as a person.

5. Do your job, but do it without stress

This is actually a very important lesson my dad has taught me. A while ago I would get so stressed out about my work that I couldn't sleep and it affected my health physically and mentally. He told me to look at it as we're eating a meal. When we eat something, we don't use All of ou brain and effort to force ourselves to eat so we can put food in our stomach, instead, we are conscious and know what we're doing and still manage to pick up a spoon and put food in the mouth without spilling. You don't have to put so much thinking and energy into it.

Now you might wonder, how can you apply this with working right?
It's similar because using a lot of your brain and getting stressed out about work will not make you perform better. But being calm, do your best without the existence of stress will allow you to do the work without so much effort but still perform well because you know what you're doing. This way you won't be so tired and burnt out at work since you're not using all your energy on the job.

It's good that we care about our work but we also have to fill our souls and stay healthy. Our bodies are just like machines, old and tired machines will be replaced. Just like us, if we're not healthy, it will affect our performance at work, and we can also be replaced.

STAY HAPPY & HEALTHY!

Sort:  

Great article Nam! Lots of good tips, lets all hope we can steemit for living eventually wouldnt that be great :) @originalworks

Thank you! I really appreciate it :) And that would be a dream haha 😌

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @namwanny to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Amazing! Upvote and follow me @sushek94! I post in the blog beautiful photos from my travels ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65353.52
ETH 2654.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84