A Rare Event

in #life7 years ago (edited)

This may happen once in a lifetime and it happens to me this morning. 

Some month ago I befriended a horse while walking my dogs. this horse belongs to a tribal man, which for the last year has been the watchman for a construction nearby. this horse is attached to a tree and he uses to change tree every day or other day. I will come say hello and bring an apple or a carrot. It was monsoon at that time and he had plenty to feed on. His owner is more or less taking care of the horse, forgetting to change his place so I will go and tell them (the family) they have to move the horse.  This horse is strong, after all he is a stallion everyone is kind of afraid of changing him because he react with violence and try to get out. It went on for months and I become more more worried about the horse. I check on him everyday to see if the rope wasn't not entangle in branches or that turning so much around the tree so the horse couldn't move. 

Now it's winter in India and all the green grass has been replaced with yellow dry grass. the water is scarce in this area. I wonder what will happen to the horse without food. I bought from a farmer some grass to give him not nearly enough for a horse but better than nothing. every 3 days he deliver and I bring some to the horse every day. I will joke with the watchman family that I will free the horse, beg them to let him go. 

the last week the horse wasn't moved in 4 days, I go to the watchman family as the guy is nowhere to be seen and say that's enough I am going to free the Horse this morning. when I arrived the horse couldn't move all the rope was around the tree I freed him and he goes straight to my bag where he knows I have food for him. so I gave him food. then he was grazing whatever was the nearest. I decide to go and was calling him to follow. Only if he was coming freely I will try to bring him to my compound. I was calling him to come with me, but he was too hungry to do anything else than eating so i left calling him from time to time to come. I call him Mister Horse or Horsy.

I go back to the family showing them the rope to be sure they understand I free the horse. They were quite upset with me. I show them where was a horse who was still eating. then the horse begins to run and go to the water, then run toward us in a very happy gallop. this horse knows where is the other horses in a nearby village when he escape it is where he goes. But he stops like hesitating what to do, then walking toward the road. I followed him. when he saw the road, he gallops to it. he was maybe at 100 yards from me. when reaching the road, he stopped again his back to me.

I told him " Mister Horse, if you like to come with me, I give you water, food and company" amazingly it turns back and run to me, stopping a bit away from me. So I continue my way to my house, he run pass me and stop in front of my gate. I don't know how he knew it was my gate. I open the gate my dogs was barking. I make them stop. I go in the horse is grazing in front of the compound. it took maybe 5 minutes for him to come in. Now I have a horse in my Garden.

It was a beauty to see that horse choosing his destiny. and see how happy he was to come. He is a very kind and a very proud horse... so smart. All these months he asks me many times to free him. I am not a horse person I actually am quite afraid of them. Now I am in trouble but it is so nice to see him happy. It is the first night he stayed in my compound I have one hectare for him to roam around still enough food for him, he just passes his time to graze and come to say hello on my veranda. Now I will have to make a deal with the watchman. 

I forgot to say that he has blue eyes. He is my blue eyes horse...

Sort:  

We think we pick our 4 legged companions.... When in fact it is they who pick us! He's a handsome boy.

yup this one definitely choosed his path

Very nice story. Thank you. I love horses.

yes was quite something to see him choose his life

Beautiful horse, beautiful story. I hope he can stay with you!

Yes i hope too it's quite a burden for me money wise...

Maybe you will get some donations?

yeah it will be nice...

This is beautiful and you have a good heart.. Thanks for saving this pretty animal..

Thank you, he is such a beautiful being.

I hope horsey is doing well and maybe got a name?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63342.09
ETH 2658.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81