Lovers of Knowledge, Books and Worldly Treasures Don't Find God's TruthsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Challenge yourself -- who are you without your books, knowledge and treasured possessions?

God can reach to us in any way. However, if we are dependent on books, online/digital media or worldly knowledge in general, we will never learn to hear God through our soul.

What we truly seek is communion and relationship with God's Spirit. This is what I discovered last year when I turned my back on my worldly life and inadvertently found God. If we seek God, we will definitely find Him!

Now God brings me back to my old life to finish unfinished business. Something I've spent a lot of my hard-earned cash on for most of my adult life is now being seen for what it is.

The hardest challenge so far since my "rebirth" has been dealing with my large collection of over 300 books, collectibles, autographed first editions and art. Anything not aligned in some way (i.e. most of it) is all being disposed of!

I used to have an inkling I needed to get rid of a lot of my possessions over the last decade as there was a sense of being burdened by them but I never had the strength and impetus to actually go through with it. Now, the energy to overcome these challenges comes from God himself.

What is unnecessary to our life and not coming from God's Spirit always has a hold on us in some way. It may feel good at first but it will be detrimental, even like poison, to our spirit in the long run.

So are you called to look at the heavenly treasures promised to all of us, rather than being held back by temporary, earthly ones? What are the earthly treasures that have a hold on you?


Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal, but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also. (Matthew 6:19-21)

Do not love the world or the things in the world. If anyone loves the world, the love of the Father is not in him. For all that is in the world—the desires of the flesh and the desires of the eyes and pride in possessions—is not from the Father but is from the world. (1 John 2: 15-16)



All content on this account is my own, unless otherwise credited.
Website
Facebook

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63267.39
ETH 2572.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80