The Curse of Brian

in #life8 years ago (edited)

Hello. As you know @mynameisbrian.

Brian has always been my name and mostly it has treated me well, but the name Brian has a darkside known only by the Brians of the world, something so incredibly disturbing it will likely leave you in terror.
Please proceed with caution.

The Curse of Brian

If you are unfortunate enough to be named Brian, everyone you have ever known and ever will know in the future will at some point in time spell your name 'Brain'.

Okay so maybe my intro was a little overdramatic. Nonetheless being Brian and Brain go hand and hand. It doesn't matter who it is; your mother, your girlfriend, your boss, your friends, no one is immune to what I'll call #thebraineffect. Of course strangers are most apt to make the minor spelling error, with at least 20% doing so in my estimation. You get used to the strangers, but it is most humorous when it is those you love that make the mix up.

Perhaps my favorite birthday card (and also the worst) of all time was given to me by my grandparents years ago. You see in the month of July our family has several birthdays that we often would celebrate together on the same afternoon. Shortly after arriving one year my grandpa said,

"Happy Birthday"

And he handed me a piece of paper torn out from a small 3x5 spiral bound notepad.

In case you cannot read the image for some reason it read:

Brain,
Sorry. We forgot to get you a card.
Happy birthday!

I am not at all sentimental and I have never been one to save cards given to me, yet throughout the years I have kept this birthday 'card' tucked away in a filing cabinet. Mostly I saved it because it was a classic grandpa move that I would like to remember, but also because it so perfectly exemplifies #thebraineffect.

So I have a small favor to ask all fellow Steemers...

The next time you are with a Brian and for some reason you need to write down their name please follow these steps: 1) pause; 2) take a deep breath; and 3) remember - B..R..I..A..N..

The results of your efforts may just change the course of a Brian's life.

Or

NOTE: This post does not apply to people named Bryan. You lucky bastards!

Sort:  

I was going to ask about the Bryans in the world, then I saw your NOTE.

You preempted me!

We may share a name, but they'll never know my shame

Haha, good one Bryan!

Well at least you didn't write Brain ;)

Ok but B.R.I.A.N. aka Binary Recursive Intelligent Artificial Network is a perfect name for a superhero villian or a trendy Netflix/AMC 1980s TV show.

You are right. It's also a good mnemonic device for remembering how to spell my fickin' name :)

Thanks for the post Bra.....Brian:) (Almost got me lol)

Haha! I know I've probably done that a few times.

Everyone has, probably even myself :)

My name is Kenny. Ever seen someone cool named Kenny in any show ever? Nope you have not. I feel yer pain!! Lol


Bet you have heard that line a few time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57658.56
ETH 2273.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46