HOMEMADE RHUBARB - STRAWBERRY ICE CREAM 🍓🍧 - Cook with Us #18steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

There is no summer without ice cream. But there can be an ice cream without summer 😏If you are an ice cream lover, you can go ahead with trying hundreds of recipes whenever you like, even in winter. But as we are still in the summer, make sure you will try this recipe shortly!

Today I am presenting to you home made ice cream which you can do without using ice cream maker. This recipe is very easy, quick and in effect you will get very delicious ice cream. Why shall you not try?? 🧐

You will need the below ingredients:

DSCF4469.jpg

There are 3 stages of preparation. First, is to prepare ice cream base, using milk, cream, sugar and eggs. In the meanwhile you have to prepare carmelised strawberries and rhubarb. Once this is ready, you just need to mix it together and freeze correctly, to avoid an ice in your ice cream 😉

This recipe comes from my favourite blog mojewypieki.com. Unfortunately, i don't think this blog is available in English at the moment, but who knows, it may be. If you'll like any of the recipes on the blog and let me know, i can try it out for you and share on the blog, be sure then to let me know 😃

Alright - to not keep you longer in suspense, let's have a look on the recipe 🙂

Ingredients:

✔️ 0,5 l whole milk
✔️ 250 ml whipping cream
✔️ 100 g sugar
✔️ 3 large egg yolks
✔️ vanilla seeds (optional)

Pour out the milk, cream and vanilla seeds into the pot with a thicker bottom. Boil on a low heat while cooking.

In the meantime, before the milk boils, place egg yolks and sugar in the mixing bowl. Whip until you get light and fluffy cream. Add half of the boiled milk to the cream, blend.

Put Milk with yolks back into the pot with the remaining milk. Heat on low heat, stirring with a spoon, until lightly thickened: the mixture should lightly stick to the spoon (it will be slightly thick). Immediately remove from the burner, without boiling - the cream would be immediately blotted. Cool, then cover with food foil.

Ingredients:

✔️ 300g rhubarb, diced (don’t peel the stem)
✔️ 300g strawberries
✔️ 100g sugar
✔️ 3 tbs water

Pour sugar onto a small pan, mix with water. Heat up (not stirring anymore!) on the average power of the burner until the sugar dissolves. When the sugar dissolves, slightly increase the power of the burner and cook until the caramel reaches the golden color (taking care not to burn). Add chopped rhubarb, strawberries and mix. Warm up until the juice is released by rhubarb and strawberries partially evaporates and you get fruits in thick caramel syrup. Remove from the burner, cool.

Cool the blended ingredients, pour into a container, put in the freezer. Mix ice cream approximately every 30 minutes for the first 3 hours, so that ice crystals do not form and the ice cream is more fluffy.
After this time, mix with a rhubarb - strawberry mixture. Freeze.

MY REMARKS - TECHNICAL ADVICE

⚠️If you brought milk to boiling slightly too much, don’t panic – your ice cream is not lost yet. I did it as I was rushing and looking outside the window every 2 minutes as we were expecting a guy to come round and help us get a piano on our second floor, so I got a bit of skin on milk. But I have removed it with spoon and drawled it, and once milk has cooled down, it was fine. I was then worried that it had too liquefied texture, but as you can see it has not affected quality of ice cream, neither the taste I can reassure you

⚠️I couldn’t taste vanilla as much, so I think that you can easily skip this ingredient.

DSCF4472.jpg

DSCF4471.jpg

DSCF4483.jpg

DSCF4485.jpg

DSCF4488.jpg

DSCF4504.jpg

DSCF4515.jpg

Decorate your ice cream as you like. I have served my ice cream with fresh strawberries and white chocolate chips.

Serve to your family and friends and enjoy the summer 😎🏝

MуƘιтcнєηLαв

Sort:  

this looks super delicious 😋 what an amazing creation, have a wonderful day!

@viktoriyani it is ! try this and you'll find out on your own ! :3 soon i will post recipe for raffaello ice cream! absolutely heavenly...😍😇
thank you, you too dear :)

What a lovely recipe @mykitchenlab - all we need from you is a proof photograph with some of the ingredients and for you to upvote and resteem our post. Happy to have you join us - or you could post your Raffaello ice cream recipe and follow the rules

Thanks for quick reply @cookwithus. I don’t have a photo with ingredients and piece of paper with my written name, but I have all photos in RAW (only author of photos can have raw version) - would this work exceptionally?
I didn’t know about the competition before so wasn’t erase for a prof as such. But you can see on my other posts, all my photos have a signature of my husband “wojti photography” as he is the one who is taking and editing my photos (I’m doing food and styling). I really hope that you would accept Raws :)

@cookwithus i am not suer if you have seen my comment - would you accept RAW version of photos as a proof ? I am afraid i don't have any other evidence, but i hope that you would accept RAW as only the person who took photos have these.

Thanks for offering the RAW photos. We know your entry is yours so we decided to accept it after you've upvoted and resteemed this post. Thank so much for your interest.

For your next Cook with Us entry, please include a proof photo. We'll need it just that one time. Subsequent entries will not need them.

Welcome to Cook with Us and good luck!

@cookwithus thank you that you agreed! I will make sure I will do - what is the best, if I’m on the photo with the ingredients /final product or a piece of paper with date /contest name would be on the photo ? X

upvoted and resteemed x

Thanks for upvoting and resteeming!

For the proof photo, here's the rule:
The first time you enter this competition, submit a proof photo. This can be in the form of a handwritten note with your Steemit name, the name of the dish, and the date with your entry - or it can be a photograph of yourself with your dish. Thereafter, you will not need a proof photograph going forward as we will know who you are. Please do not use Photoshop for the proof photo.

Thanks @cookwithus for clarifying! As you agreed before , I will do it on my 2nd entry . Thanks for that ! I’m really glad I joined your community! :)

Welcome to Cook with Us @mykitchenlab!

I love your creativity especially your "ICE CREAM" inscription with white chocolate morsels. It's definitely unique.

Rhubarb and strawberries are perfect together. Making it into ice cream makes it even better! Refreshing and flavorful!

Thanks for sharing the link to mojewypieki.com. I checked it out and found some really nice-looking dishes. Lody różane, Placek z rabarbarem, Number cake - torcik z kruchego ciasta, Kruchy tort krakowski ... beautiful! I wish I could understand them as they look so delicious. I'm sure there's much more.

Thanks for your entry @mykitchenlab and good luck!

@offodand art thank you for your lovely comment! I put my heart into it so i am really glad that you like it! it was actually spontanoues idea, but creativyty works the best when you let it free ;-)

yes, that's right, i was surprised at start but it really goes well together! it is worthy trying.

oh no problem. this lady is absolutely master in baking and decorating, such a great talent. i wish she would post in English as well. but before she will start, you will see some of recipes she presents, on my blog too, because i like a lot of her creations :)

thank you! :)

Yeah, I wish she would in English too. However, I'm glad that you'll have the recipes on your blog as well. Looking forward to them! Thank you @mykitchenlab!

Thanks for joining our community @mykitchenlab - rhubarb and strawberries - what a lovely combination. I developed a love for rhubarb in England in my young days - enjoying it with custard and crumble

it is my pleasure @pandamama!
yes, it is lovely combination. i have developed lvoe for rhubarb in poland, we used to grow it in our garden, and either use to cake or just chop and hae with sugar :)
now i live in Yorkshire in UK which is famous for rhubarb :) never tried it though with custard and crumble!

Give it a try - you will love it @mykitchenlab

Those caramelized strawberries look awesome! I bet they go well with the creaminess of your ice cream. This actually reminds me of a dessert I used to make with vanilla ice cream, strawberries, brown sugar and balsamic vinegar. Great entry, good luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63281.14
ETH 2674.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79