My life as a smoker was wretched. My whole day revolved around smoking.

in #life7 years ago

Always, I yearned for cigarettes everyday but I struggled to manage my smoking but my effort worsened the situation. I had an awful smoker’s cough, problem with breathing, allergies and phlegm all that made me to try to relinquish smoking again and again. In fact, since I was as young as 10 years, young girl, I knew that my destiny was leading me to smoking. Every time my father would find me gazing at magazines on smoking and when he was smoking, I could come near him and pretend to be asking question without him realizing my intention. My first time smoking cigarette was at age of 13 years old when I stole one of my father’s cigarette stick of Marlboro light from his pocket. The moment I smoked, I felt like I had really changed instantaneously. This was the start of my journey of three decades smoking. I graduated from infrequent teenage girl smoker to a professional in a period of one year. At 15years, I had realized that smoking had promoted me to a covert elite society. I could hangout with big girls and at times big boys united with sticks of Marlboro light. No one could control me; my mother would blame my father for my behavior. My parents brought counselors often to advise me but I can say, it was too late, I was doing what I loved and enjoyed, smoking. Smoking quickly rocketed into an unmanageable addiction. By 17 years, I could smoke a packet daily. At 20 years old, I could exchange different types of cigars.
Anyway, I thank God I am not a smoker today, may be my son would have been affected at his early stage. How did it come to an end? I began experienced some horrible affects at 25 years old. My weight and skin deteriorated and I was hardly getting my monthly periods. These were among the dire impacts of smoking leave alone yellowing of skin. I knew, these were incubation for dire case of lung cancer among other severe chronic illnesses. Regrettably, I came to realize that the influence of about 13 years smoking was a risk to these deadly diseased. This scared me and I had no choice but put a squealing stop to my addiction.
Thanks to my mother who admitted me to several rehabs. Today, I am free from smoking.
I hope this post will help someone. Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

Congratulations @myhealth! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I also quitted smoking . I realised it tastes bad and you always smell bad. I smoked for 17 years and than quitted from one to another day. It works!!!

Taste was not my thing by then, i crave and pressure was so high.

Lol mine too but i hv a good controll over it i can quit smoking for upto 2 months i just smoke for fun

hey, you should stop its horrible..

Yeah i only smoke when i feel very stressed

I hace nevera smoked - I sure that this is not good for my health .. and I think if you never start you don't have the desire to do it

Upvoted :)

That's cool..i smoked but I am smoke-free.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62629.89
ETH 2572.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74