Universal HealthcaresteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

Some of you may remember a few weeks ago (well, at the beginning of November), I posted about doing the Darth Vader thing to get tested for Sleep Apnea...

Well, I tested positive, and have been using a CPAP machine for the last few weeks to help me sleep, and it's actually going pretty well. Other than having some trouble with congestion (and not being able to take it on the plane when I flew down for my grandpa's funeral), I've been using it regularly and have noticed a reasonable difference.

Capture+_2018-01-10-11-41-45.png
Not my best night, but in my defense, I was interrupted by a 4 year-old at least three times throughout the night!

Thanks to Universal Healthcare, this has cost me basically nothing up until this point, just a $200 payment to cover the costs of refurbishing my loaner CPAP once I'm done using it. BUT, the healthcare system and my benefits only cover it to a certain point, leaving me with almost $1,000 CAD to cover. For reference, the only place where we have that kind of money is in my steemit account, and that is far from easily accessible!

So, do I try to find $1,000 we don't have, or do I suffer from Sleep Apnea...These are the decisions my life is made of at the moment...

Sort:  

Why can't you take the CPAP machine with you on the plane? That sounds rather idiotic.

It wasn't that I wasn't allowed...I simply didn't have enough hands. I had two suitcases, my "office in a bag", a "fun" bag and purse for my 4 year-old, and my 4 year-old! I almost needed a Sherpa!

Been there and done that. Glad mine are all grown with families of their own. Now its their turn! lol

My mother in law takes her CPAP machine on airplanes. Was it the airline that wouldnt let you? I wish the US would have universal healthcare. Health insurance is so expensive for our family that we've opted to go without.

Nah, wasn't the airline...too many bags, not enough hands. It was an unexpected trip that got planned after we had already left on another trip, so there wasn't a chance to pack appropriately!

that universal healthcare is it worldwide coverage ?

Here in Canada, our healthcare system is largely funded by the government. So, most medical procedures, tests, and other things are covered through our taxes...as long as it happens in the country. Out of the country is a whole other ballgame!

what a great fair medical system you folks have there

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61420.98
ETH 3276.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47