Mind Mapping

in #life7 years ago

I'm working on a complex relationship chart to explain the interrelationships between my field and another, closely related subfield. What I thought would start out as a very simple and quick task has turned into a monumental mess of spaghetti lines!


Image courtesy of: https://www.flickr.com/photos/zipckr/4688416205

There are areas where one field or the other has sole responsibility, others where we have a shared responsibility, and still others where one field has responsibility for some portions while the other field has responsibility for other portions. One of the reasons that I'm doing this is to find gaps in the enabling documentation that allows both fields to operate independently, yet cooperatively.

This will be an enormous task...

Why do I use a mind map for this? There's a few reasons, the most important being that once I establish a relationship between concepts, I don't have to adjust the relationship just because I move an idea or concept. This means that I can focus on the ideas instead of the layout. Mind maps are also particularly helpful for understanding complex relationships, especially many to many relationships (where each idea/concept is connected to many other ideas/concepts and vice versa).

I'm hoping that once I get a little bit further into it, some of the gaps and areas for improvement might become more visible. If any of you have ideas for making this better, don't hesitate to let me know!

Sort:  

Interesting. I think a Map would be a great idea with out knowing more detail. You will see what things that they can only work on independently and which could be worked on together. I always like visual aids so drawing it out or writing it down really lets see the bigger picture.

We're trying to sort out responsibilities, and right now there aren't any clear lines (long-standing problem that precedes my arrival at this organization), so visualizing them is a good first step...I hope!

Like your photo is very Interesing @mwoodall

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60678.52
ETH 2339.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48