52 Weeks, 52 Books - Week 1 (Book 1)

in #life5 years ago

I used to be a voracious reader. I would devour books in hours, and on a good day when I didn't have anything else to do, could sometimes get through two or three of them! In recent years, this has abated a little bit. Partly because of working full-time (often in jobs where my spare/reading time was limited both on and off the job), and partly because having a busy five year-old doesn't allow for a lot of reading time. As much as I enjoy Franklin and the Barenstain Bears, I'm not going to count those books (though the time with kiddo most definitely counts!)

So, I set myself a quiet personal goal. You, my Steemit friends, are the only ones I've told so far! I'm going to commit to finishing a book per week. A lot of these will be work related, but some will purely be for my own enjoyment or books I've put off reading for far too long.

This week's title is: Beyond Shelters - Solutions to Homelessness in Canada from the Front Lines

20190104_122602_HDR.jpg
20190104_122611_HDR.jpg

I picked it up as part of my ongoing research and development on the Social Determinants of Health, particularly how we look at them in the context of marginalized communities. This is a great book with a series of essays from people who have worked on the front lines of homelessness in many communities across Canada. There are some excellent personal anecdotes, and some honest (and hard) truths about how many people currently think about shelters is not helpful, and can actually be very harmful for people.

I've got a couple other books on the go, so it's a bit of a race to see which one I'll get through first!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94