Open Eyes

in #life7 years ago

StainedGlass.jpg
I am starting my first practicum as a counselor-in-training. I'll be working with youth, ages 10-17. My responsibilities will be anything from giving assessments to general case management. And I vacillate from trembling to confident.

Looking over the referral paperwork for two clients I will be working with was a sacred and heavy experience. Not because they have severe psychiatric symptoms, but because the situations they are in are heartbreaking. But the situations can be overcome. None of these youths are beyond help, which gives me hope. Hope is important for everyone in people helping professions to have; if you don't have it you can't share it.

What terrifies me is that I am playing a role in their future, and I am still trying to learn what I am doing.

However, I cannot let the weight of this responsibility stop me. I am so thankful to have a strong support system of family and friends, quality training, and an understanding of myself and self-care to prevent burnout.

While I was at work today, I was listening to the radio and the worship song "Open the Eyes of My Heart" came on. The lyrics go like this:

(Verse)
Open the eyes of my heart, Lord.
Open the eyes of my heart.
I want to see You.
I want to see You.

(Chorus)
To see You high and lifted up.
Shining in the light of Your glory;
Pour out Your power and love
As we sing holy, holy, holy.

Holy, holy, holy,
Holy, holy, holy,
Holy, holy, holy,
I want to see You.

As I was worshipping along to the song, in my heart a desire stirred to have my spiritual eyes open to all that and more. Not only do I want to see Jesus lifted, but I want to be a part of His work of lifting up the broken hearted and weary around me. I want to see these youth, who are being entrusted to my care, lifted out of their daily mire and brought into a better way of living. I know I cannot do it on my own, but I am confident that the God who created the universe is more than capable of helping me to journey along side my clients as they decide if they want to work towards a different life. So I approach these next steps with humble trepidation, recognizing that I have much to learn and much to give.


Photo

Sort:  

I have worked with kids for years. My best advice is to follow your heart, make sure they know you care, be fair, be consistent, and be strong. They need a role model not a friend. They will respect you if you respect them. Good luck!

Thank you for your experienced advice. It is very encouraging. I will take this to heart. :)

I've worked with youth all my life. My advice: listen. It's so important that they know they've been heard. You want to make a difference, support them, guide them--in short, you want to use everything you've learned. Now take the "you" out of it and just listen - let them trust you to know that you're not adding, inferring or imposing your view. A note of caution - transference of spirit, and it works both ways. Don't know what this is? Better start there. Have you read the play Equus by Peter Shaffer? All about transference. "Is anyone listening to me today?" That's an awful place to be. Just listen and eventually they'll tell you what they need.

Thank you for this. Very wise and experienced advice.

We talk about the various kinds of transference and counter-transference in the skills classes, but I've never read Equus. I shall add it to my reading list. :)

I KNOW you will do well because your heart is in the right place.

Thank you! I appreciate the vote of confidence! :)

Nice post! I will follow you from now on.

Congratulations @mustardseed! You received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @mustardseed! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63672.48
ETH 3319.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91