I Wish Everyone Could Have a Grandpa Like Mine

in #life7 years ago

Grandpa1.jpg

Great-Grandpa Keefer is one of the sweetest and hardest working men ever to walk the face of the earth.

This is him on an average day. Playing in the garden, and just enjoying his "retirement." He and my great-grandma still live on the family homestead and they will continue to live there until they die. At 90, Grandpa still helps to mow and bale hay, spread the manure, and he alone plants and tends to the garden.

Grandpa2.jpg

We are blessed that there are two houses on the farm, so my parents were able to move onto the farm when they purchased it from Grandpa on May 15, 2013.

Grandpa3.jpg

While my husband @lydon.sipe and I were home in Pennsylvania the past two weeks, I got to snap some pictures of Grandpa working in the garden. It was such a treat, and I wanted to share them with you all.

Grandpa4.jpg

I wish you could all get to meet him and listen to the stories he has to tell.

Grandpa5.jpg

_______________________________________________________________

He brings life wherever he goes.

_______________________________________________________________

Grandpa6.jpg

A man of grace and integrity.

And I get to call him Grandpa.

Sort:  

My dear, I think you should sign your grandpa up on Steemit and help him tell some of those stories! :D

😄😇😄

@creatr

Haha! I like your thinking, @creatr! ;)

Nice to know about your sweet and hardworking grandpa :)
I wish I could listen to his stories :)

Thank you! He is such a gem of a man. My favorite stories he tells are about growing up on the farm or hunting upstate. :)

This is super cool. I live in Tennesee and we have so many people in their 80's and 90's that do this very thing. I love seeing the gardens being tilled and the vegetables growing. I think the work is what truly keeps them young.

Oh, how cool! I totally agree. My great-grandma worries about him because he is not as steady as he used to be, but he tells her that the day he quits is the day he dies. I believe that is 100% true.

I agree with your sentiment. The newer generation can learn much from theirs. They understand the concept of physical work and that physical work has paid off in longevity.

Absolutely! I think to that it is easier to find a purpose through physical work, and I am convinced that having a purpose gives life.

Steemit needs to give me a heart button.

You are truly blessed.

Indeed. Thank you! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63582.02
ETH 3289.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88