Digital Fasting: No Laptop (or PC) for 7 days

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Digital Fasting.png

An exercise of will power and discipline

The time was long due for this.

Starting from tomorrow, 3rd of July, the next 7 days are going to be a new challenge for me.

I am willingly giving up using any kind of computer (with a small exception, see below).

The rules are simple: no laptop or PC for 7 days (either mine or someone else's).

I will still have access to my smartphone, but will use it for communication purposes only.

This is something self-imposed and I see it as an exercise of will power and discipline. And also of personal development.

What am I hoping to get out of this?

Well, now and then I've applied minimalism principles in different areas of my life. And I have really enjoyed the results.

Also many self-help and self-growth books support the idea that, if you want something new to come into your life (at any level), you must first make room for it.

So here I go, freeing up mental space for something new. I am opening myself up to receive.

Truth is that lately I've been spending way too much time in front of the computer. Not much new-ness had room to enter my life.

I don't particularly expect a specific type of NEW thing or situation.

Maybe it will be just an new idea I will start working on, or maybe I will make some new friends. Who knows?

Or maybe I will just enjoy the benefits of having lots of mental space, even if no major change is going to happen in the next 7 days.

I see this as a great opportunity to gain:

Mental Clarity

To support the mental clarity aspect, I will do 2 sessions of meditation each day, for a minimum of 15 minutes.

Depending on how these 7 days go, if I do like the results, there's a chance I will extend by another 7 days.

I won't go more than 2 weeks, as the Season 7 premiere of Game Of Thrones is on 16th of July.

So, my fellow Steemians, this is goodbye for now, see you in 7 (or 14) days.

BTW, stay tuned for a follow-up article, where I will share if and how this digital fasting has helped me.

Ciao!

Image Source: https://pixabay.com/

Sort:  

good luck with the challenge. As for me I will try this when I will do hiking in Patagonia for a week and no chance of any signal. I do love a little help to keep me motivated :D

Thanks, @teodora. Patagonia, nice! I hope you will write about your experience there. I know next to nothing about Patagonia. As for motivation, it's easier when you see other people doing what you want to do. Take care, tnx for dropping by

Good luck with this challenge, I've been thinking about this too, lately. I would like to have at least one day a week without a computer, it's been way too long since I've been glued to my laptop continuously. So thanks for the inspiration and looking forward to your follow-up post. :)

Thank you, @raluca. This year, I've been trying 1-2 days without laptop and when I came back, I had much better focus and clarity. So yes, there will definitely be benefits. We'll see in 7 days, ciao.

Wow bro good luck with that... i know its not going to be easy and maybe all of us should try to do something like this! Sometimes we can discover how beautiful the world is when we leave all this tehnologie aside!

Thanks, @georgemales. Yes, it's time to go outside and play :))

This days it's very difficult to be without your pc for that long. So if you are able to do it, you have really done exercise of will power and discipline as you said it. By the way I will try and see if I can also try. With that you will be able to instill self discipline
I will follow you hope you do same so that we can have a great time here

Thanks, @tankoshakun. I've successfully done 2 days of laptop ban in the past and it felt really good! Also when travelling I didn't always have PC access. But this time it's different, as I'll be in my city. Cheers

Good luck @munteanu!
Though, it seems very difficult to me, I think is a good objective that many of us should have. With the target that each one thinks is achievable for him. For instance in my situation, 2 days would be the maximum that I could resist without a computer or smart phone.

I already did 2 days some time ago, and I liked it. I won't be smartphone-free, just pc/laptop free.

Good luck with this challenge! It ain't gonna be easy :D

Challenge done! Will write the follow-up soon.

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/ro
upvote and resteem!

Good luck! Do not forget to read some books ;)

I did read some books ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67584.80
ETH 3438.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70