Little Miss soon to be 1

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Not so long ago I was only a mum of 5. However the powers at be had other plans for me.

I was convinced my family was done. I had finally given my eldest daughter the sister she had always wanted (but that's another story). I had sold all our baby items, the double stroller and the cot. I had given away baby cloths and blankets I no longer used for Miss 2. I had even given away the spare baby seat that we had been holding onto just in case.

Then it happened. Exactly two weeks after selling the pram I discovered I was pregnant! Again!

IMG_1042.PNG

Unlike all the times before, this time I was worried. I had not only made the decision we were done but I had told everyone. People always ask me "oh, when are you having the next one"? Up until then my response had always been one of uncertainty. "I'm not sure". "Maybe one more". But for months I had been saying "no more", "I'm done".

After all I had five perfect children. I had that feeling of completion. So when I saw two little pink lines pop up, my heart skipped a beat or two. My first thought was panic! How would I tell everyone. How would I tell my partner and my kids.

IMG_1040.PNG

Then happiness, there is no greater gift than that of a baby! A new little person was going to be joining our insane world of wonder.

Due to my first reaction I decided not to share my news with anyone. Out of fear of judgement and a fear of others opinions I spent months worrying and overthinking my every move.

IMG_1041.PNG

Of course, pregnancy is not something one can keep to themselves forever. Although I did manage to hide the news for several months and blamed my ever expanding waistline on chicken nuggets and my serious addiction to chocolate.

However those explanations slowly started to be met with raised eyebrows and sideward glances and even the odd wry smile from my mummy friends who clearly had figured it out.

IMG_1043.PNG

So when I finally had no choice but to make the announcement it was just as I expected, the news was met with some interesting responses. Most were congratulations, however some blatantly obvious remarks of disapproval and judgement left me feeling saddened.

All that changed the moment our little princess entered the world! With her beautiful smile and sparkling little eyes, she became the most adored member of our family. Her siblings dote on her and give in to her every demand. Her whimsical charm has us all enamoured!

IMG_1045.PNG

It's so very funny that all the self doubt and concern I had for what others may think was gone in a split second. The moment she was placed in my arms. My arms are where she spends most of her day ( and night) seem to be made for holding babies.

My greatest achievement will always be my children. No matter what happens in my future or where life takes me, they are the most important thing in my life and always will be.

IMG_1046.PNG

One very proud mumofmany.

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing your story.

I have three girls and my wife and I are expecting our 4th baby. The joy just seems to increase with each new one. It's so fascinating to get to know them little by little and see their different personalities emerge. Come November, we get to meet our newest one! I'm hoping for a boy this time. @ironshield

That's fantastic, my friend had four girls and then finally got s little girl so good luck!!

I meant she finally got a little boy! I really must check before I post lol

I loved reading this. Not so many people here talking about parenting - I'm excited to follow you and hope you follow back.

Thank you, I'm all about parenting. The good the bad and the crazy.

Mum of 6! You have the most difficult and perhaps the most rewarding job in the world. You're an inspiration to us all and you are 'Australian values' personified. Welcome to Team Australia, I hope I don't let you down. SirKnight.

Thank you. Go teamaustralia! Def the most rewarding job in the world.

My super cute youngest grand baby, not that the other 11 aren't adorable too... they absolutely are!

They are all gorgeous!!!

Yes they are, and one day I will get all 12 of them to sit still long enough for a group photo lol

She is a gift. I'm a mom of many too. I have five, and I remember feeling very nervous when I was pregnant with my fifth, but it all works out in the end, and I cannot imagine life without her!

So true. i can't imagine a world without her in it.

Beautiful story! Children are precious gifts from above and mothers like you are the unsung heroes of history. Never let anyone shame you for having a large family and never forget you have the most important job on the planet; creating life and raising that life up to one day be a beautiful, healthy, strong, contributing member of society! I salute you, MumOfMany! Please consider following my new Steemit blog :-)

Thank you, very kind words.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63968.82
ETH 2633.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84