Pause, Reflect and Reset

in #life7 years ago

My career is technically on hold

So I'm on maternity leave. My baby is 3 months old. Even before she was born my life began to revolve around my little one. She my littlest one, the youngest of three girls, all under the age of 8. So you could say that I have my hands full right now. And it's true. I do. I am at maximum capacity in every sense and it is exhausting. My writing and radio producing 'career' is technically on hold as I focus on raising my kids. And rightly so. This is what I wanted and this is the time to focus on it.

I've never felt more motivated

But in a weird way I've never felt more motivated to get back in the creative groove. Despite the hazy sleepless nights and monotonous days, my head is buzzing with idea for scripts and my blog. Part of the reason is because since my baby was born the TV has become my best friend. It's helped me through mammoth breastfeeding sessions and given me somewhere to rest my eyes when I'm trying to stay awake at 3am! I've gotten to sample the best comedy and drama that Netflix and digital TV has to offer. I've made my own mind up about the hype over series like 'The Night Of' and 'Luke Cage' and I've been inspired by them too.

My creative side is begging for my attention

When I had a day job it ate up some precious writing hours and took up most of the space in my creative brain. Now that I'm enjoying doing the mummy and housewife thing full time, the creative side of me is now free and begging for my attention. So am I now going to pen the next big TV sensation? I'd like to think so. Maybe not right away but bit by bit I'll get there. I'm determined to work my writing around my kids, because let's be honest I don't need to be in an office 9 to 5 to do it. It would help if my baby slept through the night, but even if she doesn't I'm getting used the the art of typing while she sleeps in a sling on my chest. My elder two kids go to school and all three of them are in bed by 8pm. Baby will wake once or twice at night but it still gives me a few hours to myself in the evening.

Wake up to a world of possibilities

Last night I rewatched a short film I wrote which was commissioned and produced by the BBC. 'I did that' were the words going through my head. The film lives online and is available to an international audience.
It makes me want to do more. And I think that's important for all of us. To look at what we have achieved, be proud of it and let it inspire us to achieve more. Take it from me, a writer/radio producer on her third career break and previously panicking about flushing her career down the toilet. The panic is over now and a strategy is in place. Sometimes it just takes a break from a 9 to 5 to wake us up to a world of possibilities. So keep watching this space, and if you don't like watching space, watch this:

Sort:  

just remember to enjoy this time with your little angel! damn I wish I had that time over again!

Yes! Get those creative juices flowing :)

I've noticed much of your support when it comes to my post but never bothered looking into your world... I'v obviously missed out on some quality content.. thank you for all your upvotes and support. I look forward to your future post and congrats on the addition to the family.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11