Celebrating Motherhood - Should we Take a Leaf Out of Beyonce's Book?

in #life7 years ago

beyonce twins.jpg

Tacky and weird?

So Queen Bey has become a mother for the second (and third) time. Welcome Sir Carter and Rumi. And in true Beyonce style she shared their debut photo online in her own unique style. It's a style that many have criticized for being tacky, over the top and down right weird.

This level of drama is utterly awesome

Whilst I agree that it's over the top, I think that this level of drama is utterly awesome. The veil, the archway of flowers, the purple gown. It makes me wish I had at least put a daisy chain on my head instead of going for the modest greasy post birth hair and smudged eyeliner look in my babies first photos.

beyonce pregnant.jpg

I'm not a Beyonce superfan but...

I love the way Beyonce is celebrating herself, her babies and motherhood. I'm not a Beyonce superfan but I do respect and admire her for being a talented singer, dancer, and businesswoman....and also for smashing the whole notion of a thigh-gap! If more mums to be and new mums celebrate their femininity the miracle of growing and giving birth to a new life, then I applaud them.

Women in India cover their baby bumps

I've witnessed pregnant women in India cover their baby bumps with a dupatta (scarf) as if trying to disguise the fact that their are pregnant at all. Male family members and friends try to avoid looking directly at the bump and when the baby is born everyone just acts like it was dropped off by the stork. No, it was pushed out of the woman's vagina, it's beautiful and amazing, and it's called the miracle of life!

Women should be proud of their pregnant and post-birth bodies

Often people forget that they were grown in their mothers womb and were pushed/dragged out into the world. It's no easy task. Then there's the job of raising them which is ever more challenging. So I think that women and childbirth should be celebrated and respected more. Instead of being embarrassed, women should be proud of their pregnant and post-birth bodies. They should feel free to dress as the Goddesses that they are and take as many photos as they like! If it takes celebrities like Beyonce to draw that kind of attention to the miracle of motherhood then hats/veils off to her!

MummyImperfect x

Sort:  

I completely agree that mothers should be celebrated more for growing and giving birth to little humans. To quote Beyonce:
"Boy I know you love it
How we're smart enough to make these millions
Strong enough to bear the children
Then get back to business"

Love those lyrics! Preach Bey!

Great effort ,keep sharing , upvoted

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63315.26
ETH 2668.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79