You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hidden Child Labour in Indonesia? My observations at the beach in Lombok

in #life6 years ago

Child labour is really bad ............ if you have other options.
If you are in undeveloped region with lack of education, infrastructure, natural resource, R&D, you can't afford childhood.

Just like 18yo kids in USA, Europe and Asia have lost significant part of their childhood in WWII.
They fought the life and things threw at them.
Kids after WWII did work too. There was no comfort in life for adults, nor the kids after WWII in Europe.

This did create the generation of people who did build up their ruined countries, bust their asses and not complain about life.

One other hand, nowadays you have spoiled kids in developed countries. Many are 30yo and still can be considered as kids, living of parents income. And their only skill is to install app on their cell phone.

These working kids might not comfortable childhood but they can still have childhood (kids make up their own World, no matter how bad it is in our eyes).

I grew up in 90's after fall of communism. Parents could afford me 1 costly present on Christmas and couple of cheap ones during year.

My monthly pocket money was $0. If I want something, I had to earn it.
It didn't break me. It did make me for what I am today.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62966.47
ETH 2631.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79