Tiresome Ironing

in #life5 years ago

IMG_6479.JPG

The housework that I dislike the most is ironing clothes. I am sure I am not alone. I remember so clearly another lifetime ago when I had to iron my own school uniform every week. We did not have an electric iron. What my mum had was a heavy appliance made of iron also called an iron. I had to burn some small pieces of coal and using tongs transfer the redhot coal into the belly of the iron.

IMG_6482.JPG

My uniforms had to be well starched after washing and then dried. Just before ironing, I was taught to sprinkle water on the uniforms to make it easier to press and slide the iron through the stiff and wrinkled material. It leaves a trail of hot steam and removes the creases. Seriously, it was a hot and tiring job.

IMG_6480.JPG

There are so many types of electric iron nowadays but I can assure you that ironing clothes still remains my pet peeve. After I started working, my clothes were ironed every morning. Just the outfit that I would be wearing for the day. I had a whole wardrobe of messy wrinkled clothes.

IMG_6485.JPG

Subsequently, I send all my laundry to the cleaners. Thank God, I don't have to iron anymore except on very rare occasions. I only know of one person who loves ironing. He is the CEO of the company that I used to work for. He told me that he enjoys ironing his own shirts while watching soccer on TV. His wife and housekeeper are so lucky.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10