I Just Want the Cycle To End; A Story Between a Washing Machine & Me

in #life7 years ago (edited)

1stWorld.jpg

I really need to get this off my chest, it’s killing me, slowly. Week by week. I dread the day we meet again and the saga continues.

I’m talking about my washing machine. YES! Every week it’s the same argument and it’s become the burden of my existence. Just go buy a new one, you say? Well that, sadly is not a option. This washing machine came with the apartment and is connected to the apartment. No one will fix it, because technically it does still work, but it’s the effort it takes to make it work. This is the routine:

Step 1. Put clothes in;
Step 2. Put detergent in;
Step 3. Turn on the appliance at the wall (ref to image below);
Step 4. Turn dial to required cycle;
Step 5. Hit start button.

IMG_5406.jpg
The switch at the wall that holds back my dreams of a new washing machine

Now this is a straight forward process and to those out there that may have needed it, that’s how a washing machine normally works. The cycle starts and you can hear it filling with water... or that’s what it sounds like. After a minute or two, there is silence. I walk in and all the lights are flashing red and the timer has stopped.

Being a front load washing machine also means that the door is locked until the cycle is complete which means turning the machine off and resetting: and the process is; turn dial to off on washing machine, switch off at wall and leave for 30 seconds or so. Repeat the above steps 3 to 5.

So you only need to do that once? Big deal. No... it doesn’t stop there. This process takes anywhere between 3 to 10 times! For. One. Load. I have tried everything. I have threatened it, hit it, sang to it, petted it, talked to it, shook my fist at it and still to no avail. When it does work, it feels like a miracle! Then the reality sits in that I’ve only done the first load and then we start again from square one.

IMG_5405.jpg
Plaguing my life on a weekly basis for 8 months now, I swear it's mocking me

I want to know, am I the only one suffering from this? Does anyone else have an appliance that seems to mock them relentlessly? I need to know. I really do. Who else out there has a possessed, demonic appliance that seems to make their life hell?

I know this may seem random and completely ridiculous, but my patience is running on dry (pardon the pun). I just don’t know when this cycle will end.

Stay tuned for an update where I most likely throw it off the 32nd floor...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68854.36
ETH 3283.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67