Sad fact of life: Cheating happens.

in #life6 years ago

Infidelity is expensive — it can lead to break-ups, tears and even violence. So why do people do still cheat?

The question haunts lovers and fascinates researchers, with the latest study offering some sobering findings: You could be doing everything right and your partner could still be tempted to cheat for reasons that have nothing to do with you or their boolean complications.

More than 70% of the world's population believe infidelity is unacceptable, yet 18-25% of people engage in it. Infidelity is associated with adverse outcomes such as divorce, domestic violence, depression, even homicide.

Let's start to answer by looking at some shitting reasons for cheating:

Here's what some people admitted:

“I had ‘fallen out of love with’ my…partner.”

“I wanted a greater variety of sexual partners.”

“I was not very committed.”

“I was drunk and not thinking clearly.”

“I wanted to enhance my popularity”

Well, these means that cheating is more than just about the love (or lack thereof) between a couple. It might be more about how the cheater is feeling about themselves or what type of not-so-good situation they got themselves.

So does this lust for experience, this solipsistic drive sound a kind of death knell for the grand ambition of romantic love? Or, what if this passion for self indulging, for ticking off ever more boxes on life’s bucket list, might be done without the assistance of some third party?
And is this adage true? "Once a cheat always a cheat".

Leave useful comments by sharing insights that you think might be helpful.

Please do upvote my post if you love my writeup, I will be grateful.
And thanks for viewing my steem space :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56482.82
ETH 3004.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.21