My Birthday Weekend - What I'm Grateful For

in #life7 years ago (edited)

THANK YOU for all the birthday wishes! 

In my previous post I told you about the tumultuous travel from Barcelona back to Hamburg. Gladly I made it home on Thursday and could recover a little over night. The initial plan I had for my birthday was to get together with my friends and celebrate into my birthday, but since I got sick the night before I decided to stay  home and go to bed early.
The next day,  on my birthday I almost miraculously I felt a whole lot better and I decided to spend the weekend OFFLINE, recover and just enjoy the time with my friends and family.

I spent the morning of my birthday with my mother, watching old videos and going through photos of my childhood. 

This was on my first birthday. As you can tell, I've always been a dancer and a really active and happy child. 

I opened some gifts, among them an awesome meditation cushion and other great things I can take with me on travels, that will help me better my sleep and . Also every year I get a sunflower, as a birthday tradition. 

With all the stress I had the day before, I was more grateful than ever to wake up in my bed, spend morning with my mother and afternoon with my friends. I told my friends a day before my birthday that I would come home and I didn't expect everyone to show up since it was really spontaneous... but they did! Some drove from Berlin to Hamburg right away and they even managed to prepare Raclette for dinner.

So I drove to my friend's house to celebrate with my closest friends. Initially we planned on going out that night, but because we hadn't seen us all in so long and had the most fun at the house, we decided to stay home.

Cheers to 20 years!

This is just a glimpse into what I did this weekend during my OFFLINE time...

Besides eating lots of cake, I simply enjoyed being around my friends that I don't see all the time. Because I am not home a lot and currently very career focused, I don't often get the chance to spend a whole weekend with my friends and family. But occasions like this remind me of the people I am extremely grateful for and appreciate to have in my life. 


I think we all need this reminder sometimes, and realize that everything we work for, what we pursue, and what we do on a daily basis is only of value as long as we are healthy, what we do brings us happiness and we get to  share our joy, love and success with our loved ones. We tend to take things for granted that are always there, until they are not. When I'm sick I thank my body for reminding me to take care of it better, rejuvenate and relax more. Health is all we have, it's always top priority because without it nothing else is possible. And the same goes for friendships. No matter how busy you are, don't forget the people around you, those bonds you want to keep and friends you want to take with you on your journey. 


TODAY AND ALWAYS I AM GRATEFUL FOR:

1. My Health

2. My Family & Friends (and their health)

3. Everything Else (Career, The Internet etc.)

The order matters. And even though I believe everyone would agree that without health, nothing else matters, we sometimes get caught up in our daily lives and forget to feed the most essential areas of our lives, such as our well-being and relationships we care about. They say success is a lonely road, but I believe that it's a decision. If you feel like bringing people with you on the journey, or simply take some minutes out of your day to check in on the people you care about, it can make all the difference. Even though my girlfriends and I are on completely different journeys and my mom understands little about what I do, at the end of the day I try my best to keep them updated on the most important things in my life, and communicate. My friends might not completely understand what I do, or the journey of my friend who's a rap artist in Germany, on her way to becoming an international sensation,  is something I can't personally relate to, I know when we see each other will always have fun, support and be there for each other and I am extremely grateful for that.



I hope you enjoyed this reminder we all need sometimes and excuse the few days I've been offline and online in the real world. I'm excited for this week, there is a lot I have to share with you...


Question of the day: What is something or someone you are extremely grateful for?

Much love,

- Mrs.Steemit


Sort:  

Really awosam , happy birthday

Happy Birthday, I am grateful to be alive and healthy! also to be living in an amazing city like Dubai, surrounded by my family and friends.

Great my friend:)

Thanks! That's a good reason to be grateful, I love Dubai.

You're an awesome woman @mrs.steemit! Happy birthday to you. I really love your quote above regarding Home is where your treat your friends as family and your family as friends. Inspirational quote it is!

Also, your one year old video is too cute to handle. You deserve to have a break! Wish you well.

Thank you! I appreciate it, more than you know. My best wishes to you!

HBD!!! im bout to head to montreal in a cpl of days to celebrate mine!! I was surprised by some of your friends, are there women of color with german accents out there??? im super intrigued and may need to plan a visit to your country one day soon!

Thanks! Yes there are many people of color in Germany. Germany is nothing like others perceive it, especially what I've heard from Americans. I think you should definitely plan a visit to see for yourself. Besides Berlin, come to Hamburg as well. It's a beautiful city and we have a great Steemit community here :)

This is fantastic and I love its ingenuity.

follow me i will follow you back

Happy birthday:)
just heard in the news that there was a big fire breakout on tomorrowland/barcelona..

It was pretty bad but fortunately there were no injuries from the reports I read.

Thanks! Yes there was even a fire in the building next to where I was staying. Pretty crazy, glad my timing was good

Belated "Happy birthday!" and best wishes from me! :)

Thank you! :)

Happy birthday
May you live happy
Best wishes

Happy Birthday @mrs.steemit, enjoyed reading your post!!

Thank you! :)

Thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99