Diary: Just Another Day // Motivation - DIY Progress Jar

in #life7 years ago

Dear Steemians, 

in my recent blogposts I shared with you some of my fun travel experiences, my birthday weekend etc. and I feel like it's time to switch it up and share with you what I did today and do on most usual days. 

I want to quickly remind you that even though I have a lot of freedom in my life, I travel often and I have shared with you mostly the more interesting and fancier parts of my life, there isn't anything fancy about what I do with most of my hours every day. I sit and work, some days for a minimum of 6 hours and on busy days 12 hours or more. 

Don't get me wrong, it's a choice I made that I'm happy with, but that doesn't mean it's always easy. While I do try to take at least 1 day a week off, and work according to a set schedule I create for myself, there will always be days (especially before a launch or any deadline), sometimes an entire week where I don't look at the clock at all and just focus on progress and getting as much done in a day as possible. 


Just Another Day In The Life Of: A Digital Entrepreneur

Today for example I got up at 11 AM (went to bed at 4 AM the night before), without my usual morning workout routine went straight to my desk with a cup of coffee, and continued where I left off. I'm working on quite a few projects (excited to finally be able to share the most recent one with you next week) and when I can see the finishing line at least of phase one, I tend to automatically double down. 

So I sat and worked until I felt my back started to hurt, my body's way of telling me to get up and move. I was shocked when I looked at the clock, it was already 5 PM, and definitely time to get some food in my system. After some lunch, and about an hour break of stretching and closing my eyes, I felt tired. So I had to make a choice, either take a nap at 6 PM which I knew I would regret the next day, or... *as I'm looking at my progress jar* get up, get a quick 30min home workout in and finish what I was working on.

So I jumped up in an attempt to trick my mind into thinking I still had enough energy left, put on some music and started the workout routine. Quicker than I thought, the 30 minutes passed and all of a sudden my back pain was gone and I felt more energetic than I did throughout the entire day.

I worked for another 5 hours, until midnight and I was finally done for the day, and still had enough energy left to go on Steemit, reply to some of your comments, read a few blogposts and write about my day. 

Now it's almost 3 AM and time to sleep for me, but I can say that I feel great, exhausted, but great. I love going to bed, feeling I truly deserve to rest. 

I hope you enjoyed this less fancy diary entry of mine. I'm planning on turning this into a vlog, so you can actually see for yourself what it's like to live the "laptop life" and make this diary style even more personal than it already is. 

DIY Progress Jar

Above I mentioned something I call the "progress jar". I want to connect this to an interview I watched the other day of Sheryl Sandberg, in which she shared something that reaffirmed what I started doing at the beginning of this year, that has not only improved my sleep, my mood during the day, but also my overall state of mind, happiness and health.  

A Gratitude Journal: 

 

You can use a checklist, journal or even a jar where you physically write on a piece of paper what you're grateful for and as Sheryl describes it you will find yourself looking for positive things throughout the day. 

Now take this example of improving your happiness through gratitude accountability, and apply it to progress ! You can create:

A Progress Jar for example with tasks you need to get done, or even exercises for a fitness challenge:

Your jar can be for any reason. You can of course use a journal or something else, but I find a jar to be particularly motivational, especially when you label the top of the jar with the "end goal" and you can see it reach closer with every piece of paper you put in it.

I've mentioned it in one of my earlier posts, but I think we all need this reminder sometimes. 

Our habits determine the quality of our life. Habits make us, so it's important to be aware of your choice of habits.  There is nothing stronger than a habit! And this is a great way to hold yourself accountable. Stay consistent for about a month, and even the most seemingly most difficult task like working out in the morning won't stand a chance, and turn into a habit. 

Question of the day: What would you put in your gratitude or progress jar today?

Much love,

- Mrs.Steemit

Sort:  

I appreciated the video and words about gratitude. With the passing of my sweetheart Marcia Mandle,for whom I dearly loved, I have learned that grief is gratitude. I thank God for the 4 years and 12 days we shared as a couple. She died December 12, 2016 at the age of 62 from a blood clot to the lung. This was 6 days after having eye surgery. since that time I have been soooo grateful for having her in my life. From time to time I journal as well. It may be on Steemit, Facebook or a private written journal between God and me. However I find it therapeutic. With tears in my eye I again say thanks for sharing about gratitude. If you want I will provide you a link of the last blog of her on Steemit. Otherwise again thanks Mrs. Steemit. - Troy

I'm sorry for your loss and glad that it brought to you a beautiful feeling that I hope carries you to the greatest destinations of your dreams...gratefulness. I can only imagine how you feel, but I can relate to writing as a form of therapeutic dealing with something. Steemit for sure is a great platform to share something personal and receive actual sympathy. Feel free to share the link! Blessings to you :)

Thank you for your kindness Mrs. Steemit. Yes I have learned that you never get over grief. You learn to live with it and it shapes you into a new person. You absorb it and grow from it. There is no time frame. I so miss Marcia every day. writing and journaling has helped me in a spiritual way. Still today I ask God to tell her I love her and tell her how grateful I am for the beautiful things we shared. I hope and pray to see her again one day Mrs. Steemit and once again share that love. I don't know what all heaven will be like but I hope to hold her again one day and feel that closeness. I mention her from time to time in some of my blogs. Here is the last one I did that you may enjoy. Thanks so much! God Bless. - Troy https://steemit.com/christian-trail/@enjoywithtroy/marcia-and-troy-a-love-story-of-gratitude-and-god-eternal-question-enjoy-with-troy

Wow wonderful working but sometimes we need to take rest for our body. So do the same & keep it up👍

I admire your persistence to stay on the grind. That is what separates the weak from the strong, and not necessarily physical but mentally. What I would have to put in my progress jar is to start my workouts regularly again. I have slacked off this past month. And you know what? Your post has motivated me to motivate myself, I'm starting tonight.

I love the idea of a progress jar. I usually have a list, but I think the jar would be more satisfying (hopefully, the number of strips in the jar decrease instead of increase.

Another great post.

Now get some sleep!!!

One of my favorite books is Sheryl Sandberg's​ LEAN IN :)
So I really enjoyed watching that video you share, Thanks!

I'd some of my project work in my progress jar and put my friends in the gratitude one.

My progress jar is a folder on my laptop. I've got about 12 different series of posts to create. I've started the first based on favorite silver coins. I've got several individual posts I hope to write. Keep up the good work. It's inspiring.

Doing really good, and hard enough. This is a good way to enjoy life go the fullest. Thanks for sharing

Today, we'll live every moment like a lifetime.
@mrs.steemit Have a nice day.

"What would you put in your gratitude or progress jar today?"
Maybe, "sleep less" but i'm already sleeping 6 hours per day :)) but i recover my sleep in the weekends

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86