What the Duck, part Deux!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

The Nest 

Back in May, I blogged What the Duck! and was surprised that a mallard duck decided to make our suburban backyard a nesting place for her 9 eggs.

25 Days Later 

UPDATE: It has been just over 3 weeks. The local racoons, possums, coyotes and predator birds have not found the nest. I have been keeping an eye on the female duck and chased away one unwanted nighttime visitor, probably the racoon that likes to visit, and a few neighborhood cats.      

A New Visitor 

This morning, on my way to start the pool filter, I went to check on the nest. The female was diligently sitting in her place.
 

Surprise! I see another set of feathers. One of the eggs hatched. This little guy, looking quite exhausted, was sitting by his mother’s side resting.    

I could only see one duckling. He might be the only one, out of the nine eggs, that survived. The day is not over. The other eggs might be in the process of hatching. Hopefully more will show up by sunset.  

Happy Birthday 

Day one of life. This little duckling will likely have many challenges ahead. But for now, he is safe in a comfortable nest, next to his mother, seeing daylight and feeling the warm California breeze for the first time.    

I suppose we will have to name him/her. Any ideas?

Sort:  

Adorable! I say call her Sheena

did someone say duck?

i want one so badly! im naming one of them Jerry too

Yes! My idea is Mona

Welcome to Steemit :)
I follow u, follow me back if u want lot of fun and amazing picture every day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64210.52
ETH 2627.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76