[BLOG] Pissy Ex-Girlfriend is trying to take my cat

in #life8 years ago

This will be a short one and It's not going to be a life advice post, more of a rant.

If you look over my last few 'life' posts you'll see that I've recently broken up with a long term girlfriend. This is fine, it was coming. In the breakup she moved to her parents and I moved back to mine, each of us took a cat with us (we had 2).

Earlier this evening I was greeted by a message on Facebook telling me she would be popping around on Friday to pick up the cat. This was odd, we didn't strictly say that one of us would be taking the cats, what happened kind of just happened. So I messaged back asking what she was on about.

As is turns out she thinks she owns the cat. She used excuses like " I Paid for its food so its mine" and I retaliated saying "I payed the rent, water, electric and gas, whats your point?". Neither of us initially paid for this cat, we rescued it.
Since the first message We've been back and forth about the whole situation. I've been arguing the fact that the house she wants to take it to is full of young kids and already has a number of cats. The house is also on a very busy road so it would be limited as a house cat, something both of us know isn't good considering how much weight the cat put on before.
Whereas the house I live in (and where the cat currently is) is bigger, it doesn't have kids running about everywhere and its far from a busy road with plenty of grassland around for it to explore when the time comes that I let it out.

This argument is on going and will probably end up with her winning and my cat going to a shitty house where it won't be able to relax and will continue to put weight on until it starts showing health issues.

That's all for now, this was more or a rant post to get some anger out. thanks for reading if you did.

Sort:  

Don't let her bully you into anything. You are a free man. If you contributed (and from what it sounds like you were the only one contributing) to the household bills, you have as mich right to keep one of the pets as she does. A 50/50 split is EQUAL. Just remind her that's what feminism is all about ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58495.34
ETH 2300.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47