LINGERING AND UNNOTICED ISSUES IN YOUR HEART, CHOOSE TO FORGIVE .

in #life6 years ago

Years ago in the University,I went to visit a friend. He lives in a Boys Quarters. they call it BQ for short.

BQ's are usually one room apartment attached to the staff houses. Some of the Staff rent it out to students to stay.

If you are living in a BQ as a student, you are already made as per students levels.

On that faithful day. I was left alone in this my friends house. He has a neighbor. His neighbor happens to be a Lecturer whose family lives somewhere else.

She rented that BQ so that she can have a place to stay whenever she comes around.

She was doing her PHD at that time. She had a friend who was also doing her PHD also. So two of them ends up sharing the room whenever they come back to school.

It was far cheaper than staying in hotels or inconveniencing someone else.

I over heard them talking. The friend to the lecturer was narrating to the lecturer about how she was sexually abused years ago by her uncle.
image

She had told her friend that story before according to her and was repeating it again this time. She specifically reminded her friend that she was the only one She has ever told about what happened.

Unknown to them I was listening to their conversation. I wasn't eavesdropping, their voices was loud enough for me to hear in the other room where I was. They assumed nobody was around.
image

As she was re-narrating her ordeal to this her lecturer friend, you could practically feel the pain in her voice. The trauma She had gone through and the bitterness and hatred She has towards this her uncle.

This Women I am talking about where in their late fifties at that time, by now they should be in their early sixties. The ordeal She was re-narrating happened when She was a kid. So for more than thirty years She carried the pain within.
image

I felt for her and didn't know how to be of help. I kept that encounter within my mind and developed a sermon around it.

I was hoping that in one way or another those who have been through similar ordeal can hear the solutions I have to offer to such situation through my sermon.

I have an Uncle who narrates to me every time about what his elder brother did to him. The truth is that his elder brother really offended him but this offense happened over twenty five years ago.
image

One day he was telling me the story of what his elder brother did to him. As he was talking, you will think that it happened two days ago. One day I mustered courage and asked him. Uncle please when did this thing happen.

He said many years ago. I was amazed and looked at him with smiles and said 'so you don't want to leave what happened many years ago alone?'. He didn't say anything but began to work his way towards reconciling with his elder brother.
image

If you've read up to this point, please stay with me because I am trying to be as concise as possible. I have a desperate message I want to pass across to you.

Its a message that addresses the lingering and unnoticed issues in our heart.

At one point or the other in your life you've been wounded. You may not have undergone the same bitter situation like the story I mentioned about.
image

image
You've been hurt and pretend to have forgiven the person that hurt you. You and I know that the pain is still there.

It has affected your relationships, eroded your faith in God and has caused you to build walls of self defense.

Anger has become the order of the day in your life. You've not been making any tangible progress because something has been weighing you down.
image

image

It has cause you to fall into some dirty habits thereby destroying your character and reputation.

The worst is that it has caused you to start keeping secrets and avoiding some conversations. Even to enter into an intimate relationships has become difficult.

It has caused you to have a hard heart and difficult to relate with. You've not only suffered rejection but also further abuse from people that are supposed to protect you.
image

Am I really speaking to you?. Then you must learn to forgive. It will be impossible to forget what happened but as soon as you find and establish a loving relationship with Jesus, it will go along way to help.

Forgiveness is the first step to getting your life back from the devil.

The devil made sure that such a thing happened to you so that he can control and keep you captive.

Don't give him such permission over your life and destiny.

Whenever I'm hurt by anybody I say to myself, this is a trap the devil has set for me. I won't fall into it but will defeat the devil again and again by forgiving that person and loving them even more.
image

I resolved years ago never to hate anybody. I don't want anybody to occupy space in my mind and conversation without paying rent.

The bible calls those who hate others murderers. I'm not referring to situations that has to do with the occult and paganism. I usually tackle the demonic personality behind such practices aggressively but still love the victim.
image

Forgive and set yourself free from the captivity of the devil. Forgive just the same way Christ has forgiving you. I'm not saying it is easy but once you make up your mind, the grace of God is available to help you.

Forgiveness is the healing balm you've been looking for. First of all ask God to forgive you and come into your heart. You've equally offended Him as well. I assure you, that you won't regret it.
image

Thank you for reading up to this point and please resteem this post , you may not know who needs this words right now.

Thank you and Stay blessed.

Picture source-Pixabay.com

Sort:  

@Mritsnobigdeal, thank you for using the naijapidgin tag.

We encourage and support minnows.

Join us on discord: https://discord.gg/5SR8CH4 for more fun and to submit your posts for curation.

You like what we are doing and would like to support us? Join our trail here: https://steemauto.com/dash.php?i=15&id=1&user=naijapidgin

Am on your discord already.
Thank you for your support.

Nice one dear

image-1.gif

Thank you for using RESTEEM FOR CHARITY. Your post has been Resteemed + 80% Upvote.

Send a minimum of 0.1 SBD to @giving-girl to support the feeding of street children. In return we Resteem and Upvote your post. Use your post Url as Memo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64453.46
ETH 2971.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59