Living Free, Anybody can do this! Dumpsterdive Introduction.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Sunday Freegan Findings


Just a Quick hunt - 5 minutes in the trash of a small super market on Sunday, whilst waiting to swap buses.


All of this food is perfectly fine for human consumption. If you can learn a bit about foods, then the dates on the packets are irrelevant.
Lots of fresh cottage cheese, cheddar cheese, vegetables perfect for a stew, yogurts, creamy potatoes, beans , garlic mayo, some meat for the dogs and a ready meal for one of salmon and something.

One loooong period in my life, I had no money for food like this. I was mostly able to afford just cans of baked beans, white sliced bread and white pasta, which was the regular. There are many people especially young family's and single parent family's living under the Poverty Line , even in country's like England, which most would find surprising.

In my friends town , a place called Southampton located on the south coast, he recently sent me a report saying that 1 in 3 children live in moldy council houses and cant even eat 2 meals a day.
This is in England! "A Rich Country" as shown in the media to the world.

I will continue posting about what I find in the trash, its one of my hobbies almost, or should i say a regular thing I do to sustain this way of life,oh and a very rebellious act that others should start adopting.

" The most Rebellious Thing You Can Do, is to Grow Your Own Food "

Especially I will be posting dumpsterdiving posts, because it will help others who are also stuck poor and eating very bad foods. There is ABUNDANCE on the planet, dont believe their lies, we all have a right to decent foods. I will be posting on different subjects and this is sure one of them! Im new to Steemit and Blogging so more who follow the better, if we have the same views on life, then lets UNITE!

If your interested but havent got the time to go hunt random places, there is believe it or not a Trashwiki for locations of known places!

TrashWiki

Sort:  

Just changed a tag, thanks for the tip!

Is it technically illegal? Over here in the USA it is, though some cities or countys will turn a blind eye to dumpster diving.

In Germany it is technically illegal as well.
So far noone has ever been sentenced for dumpster diving though...
But many of the supermarkets lock their dumpsters to prevent it :(

In Germany,that's the most funniest for dumpster diving! All the time "Aber ,Aber, das ist diebstal!" Hihi they got everytime so flustered when they caught me. In regular places I live in Germany,they even installed a cage at the rewe! We were getting a full car load everytime though and feeding a small village with it haha.. I love it. The first trash I looked in in Germany was winter and we had ducks and rabbits and 21 bottles of Bailey's, nice Christmas that was!

some places out here dump bleach or other contaminants over any food they throw out.

yeh i think it happens once every blue moon (in EUR) but i know also that its properganda, because of the few law suits that have "apparently" happened in the past. Then everyone believes it always happens and it becomes the reality, thus not ever going to the local dumpsters lol. Seriously i have used over 1000 dumpsters and have once or twice found a bleach bottle in there.. but bleach bottles also get dropped and broke and thrown away just like a nice cake does sometimes :) i dont really think about is it legal or not, right is right and wrong is wrong- the words of an old african man i met once.

in lueneburg some friends had to pay a 280 euro fine when they got caught by police!!

I think anything is illegal if it something that's positive! It's actually possible though to get agreements also, yesterday I went to the organic shop that I go to get vit tabs,toothpaste etc and I asked them where their trash was because I was looking for it. They told me where it was and even what time it was put in the compressing container, just rocked up there now and I was too late lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56576.23
ETH 3024.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29