You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: BAREFOOT IN THE BOONIES: ABANDONED BASEMENT: Chapter 1 Section 2

in #life6 years ago

love how you so vividly remember the plants of your childhood. that is a very cool, visceral memory... landscapes are so different when you're a kid, like you explain the "haunted at times" basement.... everything takes on grand proportions!

Sort:  

Very true! Vivid and grand. I imagine you've had similar experiences. The magic of the Ozarks is so thick you can almost taste it in the air.

Btw...guess what guess what guess?!? I'm so excited and I think you'll like hearing this. I haven't posted about it yet but will once I'm caught up with more stories, posts in the gardening series, and getting things more established here...

The orchard trees and bushes are here!! Weeee! I'm excited and nervous. Hoping to get them planted early next week. I'm still prepping.

I'm reading mixed information, though. It's very heavy clay here. We only have about an inch of topsoil. Some people say to amend the soil with compost/peat moss or coconut coir/topsoil. Others say that can be more detrimental. The nursery instructions say to add coconut coir. What do you do? I'm sure it's heavy clay there, too. I know you plant a ton of trees. We planted blackberries in potting soil and they're doing well.

ozark magic; thick in the air and sweet on the tongue...

excited to hear the trees have arrived! What you're asking is sooo common and there are indeed many responses. What i will say is my own understanding without seeing your soil, so take it for what it's worth.

Firstly, ammending soil around tree encourages them to "stay at home" meaning they aren't as likely to spread their roots. If you amend heavily, they won't reach for new areas, especially if the amendments include fertility. That said adjusting pH (with lime or sulfur) is a good idea.

Secondly, depending on the species, they might not like wet feet or soggy conditions. A slightly raise hill might help prevent the heavy clay creating standing water.

What we do is dig a hole as deep as (including room for mulch) slightly wider than the roots (or container). What you DON't want is a uniform hole, so make sure to puncture the side of the hole with shovel, creating texture and easy access for roots. It's best to leave the bottom of the hole undisturbed and slightly mounded (to prevent pooling in your clayey soil).

As for coir, depend on what you're planting and how thick the clay is. For instance, we added peat to the soil we replaced while planting our blueberries as they have shallow roots, need acidic soil and LOVE constant moisiture. I might add coir if you're worried about super heavy clay, but i would add in over a larger area than your initial hole, that way you will create lighter soil that will encourage wider roots.

Lastly I would not advise incorporating any manure of compost, rather adding them under mulch. Soil, manure, cardboard, wood chips or shavings (8-10 inches deep making sure not to crowd the stem) is the order we use. This will keep grass down, moisture in, maintain natural soil profiles and feed fungi.

PHEW. thats a lot, but hope it helps with your decisions. Just remember, just planting is a FANTASTIC step, so don't fret too much. ALL THE BEST <3

p.s we don't have much more than 2 inches of topsoil and LOADS of rocks, so we do the best we can.

Thanks so much for the input on this. I took pieces from several things I've read, plus some of your suggestions too. In the end I kinda sorta Phestyled the mix. I hope it works well. I did amendments, but in a way where I think the roots will still be able to spread in the native clay. I'll do a post on it eventually. It is freaking hard work, omg!!! im so exhuasted and I'm only half done so far with the trees. Still have the berries and other perennials and seeds and and and. haha. its an exciting time of year even though I always feel overwhelmed. Anyway, fingers crossed for the trees to grow well and the groundhog and rabbits and deer to stay away. Thanks again for the advice

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63896.48
ETH 3315.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92