PROJECT #1: STEEM POWERED T SHIRTS CROWDSOURCED DESIGN!

in #life7 years ago

STEEM PROJECT #1

Here is the first project I'm working on!
On the surface, this appears to be a T-shirt sale, but in reality, it doubles as test of the STEEM blockchain to divert attention to products that can be pushed to real life.Let me explain.

There are three main targets to hit

  1. To provide something cool and high quality for steemians to wear.

  2. To utilize the blockchain to either self fund the project or to at least subsidize it.

  3. To promote crowdsourcing of the design effort.

  4. To test the community on steemit.com

  5. To help generate funds for the next round of projects

With that said, let's begin!



Do you guys wish you had high quality STEEM gear that looked cool and you could proudly rock?

Unfortunately, thesteemshop.com doesn't have a very good selection of products out there with fashion in mind. The guys on the steemit have far bigger fish to fry on the platform and swag is last on their list!

I think wearable goods are REALLY missing with the marketing department, so to fix that problem, I teamed up with another steemian and used the funds from my last video to commission some art to create an awesome twist to the steem logo. But I need the community to help with the design.

Before I present the artwork to you, please be aware that the STEEMIT logo is trademarked by the website steemit.com, the STEEM logo is free to use since it is part of the open source blockchain. If the STEEM shirt is well received, I will make a similar design with the steemit logo, provided they like our product.

Now, this is where community participation is EXTREMELY important!

I will be buying ALL of these shirts upfront with my own earned income from my JAY OH BEE(read: 9-5 Job vs STEEM) What I hope will happen is that each time I post about a particular project and the subsequent posts behind it, there is enough interest in the community that spurs activity in the comments section. Upvotes that promote the post will help generate funds to fuel the project. If there is a lot of interest, and a lot of rewards being allocated to the blogs, I will use those funds to help purchase more shirts when the order finally goes in, or to help subsidize the shirts. But I REALLY want to GIVE AWAY the bulk of the shirts just to show how powerful this blockchain can be.

Just as a bonus to you guys, I will 100% be giving away 10 of the shirts away for FREE. Maybe more! maybe ALL of them! Who knows. How they will be selected will be based on a combination of how much you interact with this crowdsourced design, how much time YOU have personally invested into building your own profile on steemit and lastly, how much you interact with others on my blogs and on your own. Yes I will be spending a few days going through people's profiles to see who has been a good steemian.

Your SP is irrelevant!

The remaining shirts will be sold for STEEM or SBD ONLY!!! Pricing will be based on the live price of steem at the time of transaction. This might change to a fix steem price, I really haven't figured out how to best do this, but it is a learning process and if there is excessive funds being generated by my posts regarding this item, I will push to subsidize some price so it isnt outrageous. Again this is all a new thing to me!

Again, most of what I'm doing is to explore the possibilities with the blockchain and to build ontop of what I learn.

Here is the first design that we came up with!

Community Questions:

  1. Can you easily recognize that it is a STEEM logo?

  2. What do you like about it? be specific, Do you like the curve on the M? Do you like using one of the steem logos as the S in steem?

  3. Where should the logo be located on a T shirt? Center mass? on the back? On the breast?

  4. Judge this as critically as you want.

steem.jpg


Photo of the day, YES I AM STILL DOING THESE!!! I'm stuck in the office today because of a snowstorm that has swallowed most of NY. Schools are closed but I am still at work! What we see here is a view looking down onto Madison Square park in NYC on Madison Ave and 26th street. Visibility is only several hundred feet and the winds are up to 50MPH. Suffice to say, today has been pretty quiet!!!

DSC00831.JPG

DSC00832.JPG

BORDERED.jpg

Sort:  

Lol...I think you should have put that dreary NYC weather first...then blessed us with that beautiful logo at the end. I can definitely see that on a black tee...even some with glow-in-the-dark lettering.

Of course, it would look good on a coffee mug.

I'm curious to know what it would look like on a turquoise background.

Thanks for sharing the pics.

Peace.

The glow and the dark lettering is certainly possible, we used some glow in the dark fabric for a hat designed for the Hard Forks Mini Series. You're going to like the second logo we came up with, stay tuned for that post!

As for the turquoise background color, do you mean the same turqouise as steemit logo? I think a t shirt in that color would be fantastic, but we havent gotten permission from steemit to use their logo just yet!

the same turqouise as steemit logo?

Yes....

we havent gotten permission

I don't think using the colors would be an infringement; but, I understand how protective they are of the logo.

Best regards.

Peace.

The idea is not bad even i think it is excellent just your logo too much reminds me to steemit logo.
It maybe to change the colors , in the middle white and the teem golden

What do you mean about it looking too much like the steemit logo? This one is suppose to be a twist on the steel logo.

Awesome idea! I love the idea of being able to rock some steem that is a little more on the style train!

To start off, I am a new Steemian, so I’m still getting used to the quick recognition of all that steem has to offer. With that being said, I was able to quickly recognize this image as one of Steem!

Second, after gazing at the image for a few seconds, my eyes drew me to the color and color detail within the logo- I love the tone of blue and the color detail within the letters and logo itself. I like how you used part of the Steem logo as the “S” in steem, however I did notice that the “t” not having a specific cross to denote that it is in fact a “t” and not a possible other character may confuse some. Possibly raising the top portion of the letter slightly so that there is a visible cross symbol may be an easy fix for that..?

Regarding placement, I tend to like logos placed centrally on the back of a T-shirt... it’s just a simple preference that I’m not sure I can explain, I just like it.

Great job! I really like what you are working towards and will try to be a positive piece of the puzzle!

Welcome the STEEM world! I'm glad you recgonize the steem logo, I've stared at it so many times, I thought I was losing sight of what the image was!

I had the same concerns with the t. its a very stylized T that I played around with. Ill take your design consideration and get that t more prominent.

And yes hopefully I can piece together the behavior of steemians (not a very easy crowd to please!).

I can imagine how long you have been staring at it! Lol. Thanks for using the word “prominent.” For the LIFE of me I couldn’t figure out the verbiage to use when explaining my thoughts on the “t”... one of those crazy “loss of words” moments >_< but yes. Prominent. Ha.

I see you're a man with many projects. So this is another one of them eh? Cool to see it uses the better blockchain of them all.

this is a manifestation of the one of the original ones.

But this one didn't seem to take. I can scale it back and self fund it if there is no interest. I thought there would be! But half the country just got swallowed by a snowstorm. So I'll press on with the design! I was hoping that everyone could get a community designed shirt for $10 bucks or something because we all put in the effort to design it.

oh. so it died

I like the idea for sure.

its a nice design. i love that the last logo curve is used as the S for steem and also the font of the steem. and i think it should be centered in front.

Great work, beautiful logo, !

Wonderful images and good project, greetings from Venezuela I hope we can continue reading

Lovely design

i like this idea. use it or lose it. as far as the logo goes. i like the style of the graphic but the rest of the letters are kinda hard to make out... i like the idea of the S being the actual graphic... looking forward to the rest... fyi im posting before reading all the way down...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.50
ETH 2617.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77