Contest @mountainjewel : Realizing the Dream

in #life6 years ago (edited)

In my excitement, fear and anticipation of the upcoming retirement from my job, I realized that somewhere in the past my dreams had been left along the roadside. Literally. My job requires a lot of driving, delivering heavy packages and it has nearly depleted my sense of what dreams may come.


075A00B5-E486-4135-A12C-6162D0D38733.jpeg

Image Source


25CF0D30-38A7-4FFB-B370-6BC3EC630FC8.jpeg

Thanks Amazon for forcing my early retirement!


My life has consisted of empty dreams, bouncing from crazy thoughts of travel and exploration, to learning about different cultures, and how they live on a day to day basis. Even staying home and reading a good book or writing a few posts seems like the luxurious fulfillment of a dream.


92FBB1E3-5FBD-4EB3-B7BA-1CEFC22A45D5.jpeg


Thinking about some of my dreams and their implications in my life have turned into posts here on steemit. Probably the most surprising accomplishment is that life has been so good to me considering my lack of participation over the past few years. Having once been quite the party queen and self indulgent child, life has given me more years than I probably deserve to straighten myself out.


79BFD7AE-1EFA-4A4C-AAAF-0E8125FC05D8.jpeg

Image Source


Prior to joining steemit, I had been accused of not dreaming big enough. Limiting myself by confining my world has become all too familiar to me. In June of 2017 things began to finally turn around, some of my unfulfilled ideas are beginning to take shape. I even took clay pottery classes.


E3A8CAC8-B3EE-4183-BE07-604ACEF26EF8.jpeg


We built and moved into our “small (too big to be technically tiny) home”, and just last year it began with a desire to raise chickens. We acquired a chicken coup I found on Craig’s list. It was custom built so a friend and I drove out to pick it up. I clenched my fingernails into the door handle as we zig-zagged along the back roads pulling the coop in a rickety old trailer.

Finally, after getting the coop in the right location, we walked in and out of it, discovering all of the nooks and crannies the chickens would have fun discovering. That weekend the chickens came, 8 girls all in different breeds and colors. Then two more, then four chicks. We took to each other right away and dreams began to come true.


765C81C4-06F7-4197-ADCC-D63688D3F95B.jpeg


B70BBCEA-5E93-4AF7-8845-F738934DE35D.jpeg


DD36CE9E-E475-45B8-9165-B717EE97B4B6.jpeg


Next we bought an old Chevy van from an estate that once belonged to a friend of mine. We got her cleaned up and have taken a few day trips in her to the coast. You may laugh, but we call her “Vanessa.” Our hope is that she take us out west later this fall. We dream of tootling around eating our picnic lunch of sammiches and other delicacies hidden in the cooler. Vanessa even has a bed and plenty of room to kick back and write a post. Photography is a must do as well.


C2C6E6CD-B2F5-467E-A2B7-7ED883AB5792.jpeg


I have a dream of running a little “AirBnB” where people could visit and pay with Steem dollars or Steem. It is a project that’s been in the works since last February. Following the build of our “really small home”, I’ve found my creativity is at a low ebb and it has taken me longer to put everything together. My sincere hope is to keep in touch and meet new people.


46B58829-7E42-44B0-B33F-163B1C0579DC.jpeg


The coastlines here still have sea shells that wash up on them, pretty shells that I have never seen before. Then there is my favorite place of all times Taos, New Mexico. A place where you can breathe in the solitude, appreciating the Native Americans who came before and still live lives full of humility. A strong spiritual existence can be felt as one gazes over the high desert.


7FBB71C0-E911-4A6F-A83A-1AB0DA29F35F.jpeg


There is so much more to life when I dare to dream. The Blue Ridge Parkway, the Ozarks and even Alaska. Whatever I venture to dream it just wouldn’t be the same without my partner in life~my beloved~to accompany me in this life adventure. This is what dreams are made of. 🐓🐓


2B7D3F31-EA4E-4F12-AC76-5F127AF7083D.png
47FE959A-1EED-45E6-807C-51ADF3BEB327.jpeg

Sort:  

You are one of the hardest working women I’ve ever known, you deserve to retire good friend.🎉

Thank you. My dreams do live on. 🐓🐓

It doesn't hurt to dream big! Give retirement a chance to settle in and see where it takes you. Follow your dreams. It is what life is made of...

I am honestly looking forward to it. The land needs more attention, looking forward to planting another garden and doing so traveling. Are you and your family safe? Need to see if you have updated your situation again. 🐓🐓

Updated yesterday and more coming today...

One thing with dreams is that, when you dream and take action, you just keep dreaming and being inspired and motivated to take more action. Dreams set the pace for more action and i am inspired with your actions and big dreams. Dreams also open you up to a world of opportunities and networks with lots of great people. You are already connecting with lots of new people and we believe you shall achieve the goals of your dreams! Keep dreaming @mother2chicks

Thank you so much for your kind words. I am so happy to see that your charity work is doing so well. Nothing could make me happier than to read about your success! 🐓🐓

Oh la la, my Green dreams are already painted on our blog. You can check it if you have time!

Sounds like you are settling and just keep doing. The home-building stuff really takes it out of you, but you'll get that energy back in time

Thanks I hope you are right. Got a lot of things to do. 🐓🐓

ah great post! glad to hear of your dreams of travel (i love taos too!) and of creating a place to host others for steem! i hope all of this for you and more! thanks for your entry <3

Thanks for running the contest. Wish we could afford a place in Taos. Visiting leaves long term impressions, and a peacefulness I shall always remember. 🐓🐓

yes! it is quite expensive, unless you're willing to live out a ways toward questa or on the "mesa" ...definitely left an impression on me as well. i lived there for a year and will never forget taos mountain, the vistas, the crisp air when it's cold out and so much more... <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63476.83
ETH 3413.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50