Under Pressure

in #life5 years ago

They look so unhappy

"When it rains, it pours"! Yesterday, I wrote a short piece titled Optimism in which I talked about maintaining a positive, 'yes I can' attitude. Today has, however, put my optimism to test in more ways than one. The day started on a relatively good note and progressed quite productively. I picked the kids from school with my optimism intact only for everything to begin a downward spiral when we got back home. First, was the power cut/outage in my area with no exact time of resolution. We are kinda used to the irregular power supply and so we always make sure the generator is good and ready to go. I even bought some fuel on my way home to keep the gen running almost all night but guess what? The generator didn't come on!


I tried everything within my power to make it work to no avail. I tried changing the engine oil and even checked the plugs but the generator didn't budge. No repairman responded to my frantic calls. The worst part of the ordeal was the fact that the kids still have exams tomorrow and needed to revise. I had to rush out to buy batteries for the old torches and the makeshift arrangement in the picture up there was the best I could come up with. The kids were so unhappy! It was hard to maintain an optimistic attitude but I had to try else all three of us would have burst into tears, wallowing in our self-pity in the dark, achieving absolutely nothing in the process. So glad the day is almost over. Phew!

Cheers and thanks for reading!

Sort:  

I hope that by now your power is fully restored. It sounds like a frustrating situation. Best wishes to your children on their exams!

Thanks a lot @akiroq. It was a terribly frustrating situation. Power has not been restored but the generator is up and running. The kids are giving the exams their best shots too so all is well. Cheers!

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63134.74
ETH 3052.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81