Bike Build & Lot Sesh!

in #life8 years ago (edited)

 

So much to update on! Exciting news on the bike build!This pic is from last year of my f4i and me at work downtown Minneapolis. She looks much different now!


Was able to get the sprocket kit installed and the chain! The reason you want to change your gearing is to make the bike slower for nice slow idle wheelies. Right now I am at 15 in the front and 55 in the rear. Eventually people move to 14/60 but I am not ready.

Then we straightened out my handle bars. This makes it easier to keep the front wheel straight when you bring the front tire off the ground.

We also then placed the dog bone to bring the bike back to stock height. The picture is of the old dog bone which helped lower my bike. You don't want your bike low when it comes to stunting because it changes the geometry of the bike. Learning on a lower bike actually prevented me from becoming a better rider. Also, the individual who lowered my bike really didn't know what they were doing.

LOT SESH DAY!

This last Sunday I was invited out to the lot. My baby looked pretty sexy out there! My friend R1 was teaching me the staggered position and to dump the clutch. I am taking baby steps to get to balance point.

Here is Kyle doing a balance point wheelie! He has been stunting for a long time and he is very confident. He still crashes and just keeps going. He told me even missing a few days can make you off on riding. So this week I really want to find a lot that I can practice at daily. The lot they go to is only weekly and it is 30min one way. I am not driving my bike down so I would like to find a closer one to exert less energy.

My wheelies are inconsistent he got a video of me popping a few baby wheelies. The video is on my FB just not sure how to download it. The first day really me learning to hold staggered position as I mentioned earlier. Which is my right foot covering my rear brake and crouching over my bike with my left foot on the passenger peg instead of by my shifter. Also, learning to "dump the clutch" which really is just letting it out and giving it gas immediately. Essentially everything I do at a stop light once it turns green but exaggerated. So hopefully more sessions will get more photos and videos to post!
It honestly felt amazing even though I barely got much of my front tire off the ground. I finally am making an old dream come true of learning to stunt my bike. If I even just get close to balance point before season ends I will be happy. Then I can retry in the spring

Can't wait to post my next stuff which will be my new clutch lever install and possible 2nd idle mod and clean air mod on my bike.

Much Love Steemers! xoxo 

Sort:  

Hey Thanks! Appreciate it :)

Hi @moony
I am to scared that I will flip backwards when trying to wheelie. Any advice for me. (I have an older ZX9 Ninja)

Clutch ups are the best! You have more control over the bike. Try empty roads (big lots up for lease are good spots too) and get good at just bringing the front tire off the ground a little bit.

Initially learning to dump the clutch and stay steady is essential. If you dump the clutch and give it WAY too much gas you will loop it. However, you probably won't do that if you've been riding for awhile. Wheeling is essentially what you do at a stop light but exaggerated. Dump (i mean DUMP it) the clutch and blip the throttle and keep trying that until it is comfortable. You will learn how much of dumping the throttle and gas does what with the bike.

Hope that helps! Take it easy, practice, wear gear and stay safe! Plenty of youtube videos to check out too!

Hi @moony
Thanks for the advice, I will try it

For how long do you ride?

Hi @iggy
Sorry for taking so long to reply, I went on a vacation and did not check the posts, I ride for 35 years, yes I am already in my 50's and never tried on a road bike, I used to have an old IT490 two stroke off-road, which was very light and I did flip backwards a few time of it, but being light you just stepped off to the back and kept the bike upright. The ZX9 will be to heavy to do it.

Make shure that if you do this on the street to have clear road. Your overall skills , how would you rate it , novice , itermediate , good? I mean riding in general.

@Iggy is this a question for me or for Rynow? :)

@iggy I don't intend on doing this on the road. The lot is there so I will use it to learn plus I want to have nice slow idle wheelies and the roads won't teach me that.

I am a good rider and I put on a lot of miles. In 2 months of owning my yellow bike I acquired 3,400 miles. :)

Very cool post @moony! Definitely going to give you a follow :) I'm toying with the idea of learning to wheelie soon :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30