You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Tunnel. A Real Life Horror

in #life6 years ago (edited)

This is an incredible share of something deeply personal. I think it’s also an important share for others struggling similarly. And, thank you for reminding us that it’s okay to take care of yourself and go easy after something traumatic. And, often the best gift we can give ourselves is time without recriminations to find our bearings again.

FYI, as an editorial note, you may want to give your copy another perusal for possible typos, etc. For example, the typo at the end of this: “I will probably publish this, but you definitely do not need to publish such wirings” [writings].

Sort:  

it’s also an important share for others struggling similarly. And, thank you for reminding us that it’s okay to take care of yourself and go easy after something traumatic.

^ Both, so very important.

often the best gift we can give ourselves is time without recriminations to find our bearings again. ~ so very true. I am a single mother with only my writing income, not even child support as we lost their father years ago. So the drive to work hard (it's tough being a single mother in America, there are no more resources as there thousands who came before me) is eating away at me as I live paycheck to paycheck, but my body is making me take it easy. I know the seriousness of the situation and if I push myself I may be useless for the rest of the future... But it's still hard, lol. But I and my loved ones are making me take it easy <3

Thanks for the catch! I wrote it with blurry eyes at times <3

I cannot begin claim to know the struggles of being a single mother. I’m a mom and disabled, which presents its own set of struggles, but have the support of an amazing husband. I’m convinced my struggles are nothing compared to single motherhood. My impulse is to magnify any mom struggle by a factor of ten for single moms. I hope you have great support network, people who can help, or at least be supportive as you listen to “[your] body… making [you] take it easy.”

I’m not making money as a writer yet. I’m trying to get there. I used to work as a graphic designer in print media before I had my son. I always suffered indifferent health, at best, and struggled to even get pregnant; we were forty when our son was born. But, my pregnancy went very badly at the end, leaving me with multiple health issues. My husband and I had planned for me to be a stay-at-home mom until my son was in school. Unfortunately, by the time my son was in school full time, I was completely disabled.

Anyway, (Don’t you hate when people – like me – use that word as a conversational wrench? GUILTY! LOL) I still consider myself a newbie in the writing community. I’ve always jotted down poetry, mostly as I created visual artworks. Just three years ago, I offered up my first creative-fiction and am working on two other manuscripts at the moment. Otherwise, the bulk of my writing skill has been devoted to writer-activism, which, I’m sure you know, is largely volunteerism.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57383.94
ETH 2450.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40