Once 'Pon Time, Happy Ever After

in #life7 years ago

When I read books to my twins, they become so enthralled in the characters, the colors on the page, the voices I make. I love watching them watch me. There are several books that we have read countless times over and over that they have begun to memorize the words. Randomly, throughout the day, they will pick up these books and just read to their stuffed animals or themselves. Every once in while, they want to tell me a story and decide to make up their own. They are only two and a half years old but their imaginations run wild and I need to remind myself to stop adulting and just run wild with them. My favorite is my daughter's story-telling abilities:

-Mommy, I want to tell you a story.
-Ok, I'm listening.
-Ok. Once 'pon time there was a gu-yul (girl). She lived in a house all by herself. One day, she left her house to petch a pail a water (fetch a pail of water).
-Oh, was the girl's name Jill?
-No, mommy. Just listen to my story.
-Ok, sorry. Keep going.
-So. Once 'pon time there was a gu-yul. She went to petch a pail a water. Then she fell down the hill and got hurt and she was so sad. (insert sad face and theatrical performance) She got up and said "I'm ok". The end. Happy ever after.
-That was a great story. I'm glad she was ok.
-Yeah, me too.

Once upon a time, we all dreamed of things and how they should be. The perfect family, house, car, career, and more. Then one day, in the middle of our journey, our expectations and the reality that surrounds us don't align and we are left wondering what happened. Sometimes, we fall down and get hurt and become sad but we have to remember to get up and just say "you know what? I'm ok" and keep going.

Get your happy ever after even if it's different from the your initial dream and story. Be like that gu-yul.

Sort:  

Haha she sounds so smart! I can't wait to meet them :) I gotta request some time off so I can plan a trip.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64622.42
ETH 3518.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46