An Engineer's Reflection in Time

in #life6 years ago (edited)



When we talk about STEM interaction and getting people involved in the profession, I often think about ways to inspire, engage and communicate with the younger generation. Understanding the latest trends and bridging the gap is important and really helps connect generations together. Just as one would exercise awareness in the workplace to be respectful and to build new relations, engaging with the future generation is the same. Understanding each other through sharing and awareness goes a really long way.

Today however, I wanted to recount how I got into a STEM related profession. Taking a moment to look back and realise how the journey started.
 

Start Point
 

My interest in engineering began during my work experience in the engineering department of the local government agency. Shadowing experienced engineers in various departments introduced me to ideas of how engineering is employed to create structures that were fit for public use whilst simultaneously resolving various ongoing problems that affect the community.
 

I got exposed to loads of ideas that I would not normally consider on a daily basis, observing the environment and recognising the issues that can come into play. My first baby steps in CAD were had here and I genuinely found this interesting, I eventually went off and developed some of these skills independently.
 

Moving forwards, I felt that Engineering and STEM related subjects would help me understand the world around me a little more. Getting involved with analytical tasks and completing small assignments were just a taster of what was to come. Thinking logically about problem solving allowed me to exercise and expand my creativity and evaluative skills. While some people may have felt this to be a chore, there was a sense of freedom and satisfaction when thinking tackling a problem in a way may be your eyes can see.
 

Laws and applications of physics/math allow us to understand how the world functions with a different perspective. I enjoyed understanding how to approach physical problems and applying theory based models. It wasn’t so much about using numbers…It was the fact that I was beginning to understand some of this in context to real life. It was a little intriguing and at the back of my mind, I was probably asking myself – Is Engineering something I can do in the future?    

I became highly inquisitive as to the intricate nature of engineering. Being able to think about how engineering affected me and the places I visited was probably one of the biggest driving factors in my pursuit in this field. Having travelled abroad, I appreciated structures such as the Aswan Dam (Egypt) and was amazed at some of the construction projects going on in the United Arab Emirates. Wondering how engineering had been applied to create a perfect system to ensure the asset withstands everyday use, what else was there to consider when working on these projects? There must have been so much invested and involved here.
 

Involvement
 

Admittedly, studying and grinding exam papers weren’t always my priority. Looking back now, I believe that gaining experiences and more importantly, having positive people encourage me were the biggest driving factors. Colleagues, teachers, peers and everyone else can really transform your enjoyment of a subject.  
 

Attending professional seminars and presentations gave me an insight and understanding of how the industry worked. But I didn’t really limit myself to strictly to Engineering. I tried a wide range of experiences including Law, Media and other fields. Ultimately, I wanted to move down a path that tied in well with my strengths.
 

I was always been attracted to ideas that involve creativity, unity and technical development. Starting from an early age, there was always an idea of how my skills would at least be able to help someone in the world one day. Medicine seemed to be the direct approach. Help a sick person, treat the wounded or at least give some advice for better wellbeing. Later realising there were certain caveats I wouldn’t be able to avoid, Engineering was a conscious choice I wanted to get involved with. A passive contribution to improving the lives of people.

People

With this in mind, I made sure to develop some of the softer skills to bring with me during education and a career. Volunteering, organizing and being active in a community was really valuable in itself and if anything, it might be one of the most essential experiences I had.

Meeting people, being self-aware and interacting with people across different backgrounds gave me an open mind. Perhaps this was the gateway that made me take notice of the philosophies present in the crypto space today. Having the courage to face exposure to new ideas, systems and mediums to express oneself has been a journey in itself.   

Today though, most of my enjoyment lies outside of the Engineering profession and have turned my attention to fusing my enjoyment with earning a living. The mindset to be open minded and flexible to life has really transformed my outlook on life - For the better!

TLDR – Think freely, explore, experience everything and be flexible!
 

Thanks for reading.
 

Momosan  

Sort:  

SCIENCE IS MADE OUR WORLD TOO EASY .......ALSO STEEM

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04