The Caterpillar Speaks: My Shroomcation

in #life7 years ago (edited)


I went camping once. I took all of the usual camping gear: tent, sleeping bag, beer, giant peanut butter cups, and 1/4 oz bag of mushrooms. I had the entire weekend to myself and it had been ages since I had been camping. I set up my tent, built an amazing fire, and waited for dusk to arrive. When the sun finally started to set over the horizon, I took out one of the massive chocolate treasures, stacked half of the dried vacation on top and got to work.

It seemed like hours before I felt the familiar smack to the face that mushrooms always seem to give me. I was smiling and if I smiled any bigger, I was certain my face would crack. The trees came to life, bending and bowing in the wind; the leaves rustling out their evening song. The fire crackled, bright beautiful flames licking the sides of the pit, daring to jump out and singe the soles of my aging Chucks. This was it. I was on my way.

I need to walk. So I do.

The gravel of the trail is rolling around under my feet, making that dry sound that normally doesn't bother me. I have to pee. I make my way to the bathroom that is situated in the middle of a playground/soccer field. I know this when am sober, but I am no longer sober. My mind has left my body and is engaged in some wondrous connection with the universe. I finally make it to the concrete building that is the bathroom, get in the room and there's a girl sitting on the toilet with the door wide open. But, there is no girl sitting on the toilet with the door wide open. There is no one but me. I finally make it to the stall I need, as far away from the not there girl as possible, and do my thing. I hurry though because I'm scared. Done. Thank God. I get to the sink to wash my hands, and catch my reflection in the shined metal they have as a mirror. God, I'm beautiful. I spend what seems like an eternity staring at myself in this sorta-mirror, admiring my astonishing beauty before I head back outside.

Uh oh. I was stuck. There was nothing at the edge of the sidewalk but a sea of waves and emptiness. I knew that if I took one more step I will surely fall off of the earth and nobody would ever know what happened to me. I stood there. Too frightened to move. To fall. To disappear. The wind, caused the waves of the sea of emptiness to rise and I finally had it in me to move. Now I am in the midst of this amazing break from reality and ready to head back to my campsite.

One foot in front of the other, the air felt like needles on my skin. 'This is too much. This is too intense for me.' I couldn't wait to get back to the safety of my tent and out of that pricking air. Minutes that seem like hours, days even, tick by. Tick. Tick. Tick. I hear everything. I see everything. I feel everything. My mind is coming back. I can feel the essence of the earth filling up my body, my root chakra throbbing from the healing love of the earth. I roll around on the ground forever, soaking up all of the good energy from the earth, thanking Mother Gaia for the wonderful gifts that she bestows upon us. I thank her for the trees, the grass, the air.

I close my eyes and succumb to the exhaustion that swallows me.

Authors Note: My favorite part of using psilocybin is always the end. The intensity of the feeling of mind and body reconnecting is spiritually amazing.

@jobsande, ask and ye shall receive :D
Photo Credit: Pixabay

Sort:  

I remember those nights...barely.

This was my second experience. The not there girl really threw me. Thanks for reading!

Aww did you post this just for me?! ;) Now following you, obvi.

Really enjoyed the beautiful descriptions and exquisite detail you went into here... sounds like quite the experience. Surprising you still remember it so vividly.

Personally, although I admire it I would be nervous to try myself for fear of the unknown, losing control, etc.

The real shocker is how little control we actually have over our every day lives. We have control of our own reactions, the people we choose to surround ourselves with, and the decisions we make. Everything else is go-with-the-flow. It's okay to sit back and let life drive sometimes. If we are able to take the path as it comes we are able to learn at our highest potential. Enjoy the ride! <3

On that note, the best decisions or shall we say life choices, are those that go with the flow after we take the time and make the effort to properly set ourselves up for these opportunities. In other words, a combination of luck and effort/skill.

It was one of those bucket list things :D Not a habit and I think because it was one of the two experiences that I had that it left that deep of an impression on me. Thanks for reading and I'm glad you liked it!
Best,
Mo

Absolutely understand - a valuable experience for being unique but not something you'd want to make a habit of!

"Usual stuffs for camping : 1/4 oz bag of mushrooms" ;) It begin well. Such a great trip.. Funny, dark, and finally peacefully and life connected.. I took a lot of pleasure reading you, like your writing style. Also this sentence : "I can feel the essence of the earth filling up my body" is really beautiful. Thanks a lot for sharing your experience and sorry for the time i took to come reading. Can I resteem it to share ?

Please do! Thanks, P! <3

Done ! ;) Have a good night Molovelly

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64475.77
ETH 2770.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66