Help me settle a little disagreement.

in #life5 years ago

So my wife and I are having a little argument. Yesterday, my daughter (10 years old) asked to ride her bike around the block by herself. I paused a bit and decided to let her do it. I'm always very protective of my kids, and while I dont want to coddle them, I don't want to neglect them either.

image

I reluctantly her she could go. Then, just before she went out the door, I told her to take my knife with her. My wife kind of freaked. She thought I was crazy. The knife in question is pretty small.

image

The blade is about 2.5 inches long (6.35 cm). It's not some crazy weapon, but it might help if someone decided to abduct you. It's something.

Anyways, I thought it was a good idea. My wife (and my duaghter) thought I was crazy. What do you guys think?

Sort:  

I think it is an ill-conceived idea. Your daughter, I assume, has not had any knife training. If she were indeed attacked by an adult, in all likelihood the adult would have no problem disarming her. If she were attacked by a child, your daughter may find herself up on murder charges. I think it is best you continue to monitor her at play. Martial arts training and knowing how to avoid a dangerous situation and people will equip her better for self-defense as she gets older than a knife. The best things she can do at 10 is run and yell.

Probably discuss the knife's use as an escape tool. I carried a pocket knife as a kid, but not for self defense. Chances are I couldn't get the blade out in time to matter. Illegal to carry for self-d here anyways. But, a good pocket knife is a great tool.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, that was my thought as well. A kidnapper wouldn't expect a kid to have a knife, but pryde has a good point. The effectiveness of having the tool is only as good as her ability to use it. I guess I have to start training her.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for your reply. I agree with you. However, I would say that having a pocket knife would not prevent her from running away. I also wouldn't worry about her having an issue with another kid, but I understand the dangers in a kid having a knife in that situation. She does have some martial arts training.

Posted using Partiko Android

Been teaching my daughters slowly about weapons and forearms since they were able to walk and just got my 6 year old her first BB Gun for her birthday last year so to me, I say good looking out dad.

Posted using Partiko Android

That's awesome. I try to teach my kids basic firearm safety with their nerf guns, but the little ones still have issues with muzzle awareness. I do want to get my oldest out on the range though. I think you have to 16 here for a pistol though. It's also expensive.

I haven't thought about doing a bb gun though. That would be a good way to go. Thanks for the good idea.

Posted using Partiko Android

Weapons are weapons, tools of a specific trade. Most designed to cause harm and as long they understand the possible dangers, I see no problem. Oh and you're welcome😎

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @moeknows!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.240 which ranks you at #2894 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 225 contributions, your post is ranked at #65.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64432.28
ETH 2648.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78