You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How (&Why) I'm Creating a Dual-Career Lifestyle*A Creative Attempt at Balancing Passion w/Financial "Success"

in #life7 years ago

Ahh, I skipped this post on the first pass since it has hardcore wall of text going on, but I'm glad I came back to it. I've been on a similar journey; perhaps a topic worthy of its own post...

But the short version is that I learned an entrepreneurial spirit which gave me the confidence and initiative to set out on my own, independently, and make my own way without any organization giving me "a job." Having done so has empowered me to begin realizing my true value, both economic and otherwise.

It was freedom. Freedom is scary, but it is worth it.

I can see now, the world is so bright and full of opportunity. If we can just stop being distracted by the way things should be (which is a mere glamour, and does not serve us) and focus on the way things are, it becomes rapidly clear that there is a way to make things better than they are. And then better than that. And on it goes.

Some thoughts on your final advice:

  1. Kanso... I haven't heard of this before, but it sounds brilliant. I look back and see that I did very similar things, and they were incredibly valuable to me. I developed the same behavior by following Christian principles, but ultimately I have realized that so many of these disparate frameworks of thought are merely different perspectives on the selfsame ideas.

  2. Vision board... Again, new name, old idea. I've never done this, but I can see its value. I think it could be a powerful tool for setting and maintaining goals. Definitely worth considering.

  3. Daily planner... Definitely not my cup of tea, but again, I see the value in the right circumstances. I think this one depends on personality, but then, I observe personalities (especially my own) to be flexible and dynamic. Perhaps the day will come when a daily planner sounds empowering rather than constraining to me.

  4. Research... Yes! The value of this cannot be overstated. And go into it with a learner's mindset: start off by admitting "I know nothing about this" and setting aside half-baked opinions that have accreted over the years (especially from teachers, professors, scientists, doctors, and other "authorities," who are really just other people like you, trying to find their own ways through life; they don't have any magical line on Truth that you haven't found yet). The ideas that are valid will stand on their own merits, everything else ought to be swept away; it will only serve to weaken, not strengthen.

  5. Budget... Yes, and not only economically. Be prepared to tell someone exactly what you want, exactly what you need, and why. I love the way you put this, because so often (almost always, in my experience) what we really want, and what we need in order to get it, are things money cannot buy, at least not directly. If money becomes necessary, that's fine, but never, never let money be the goal; money is by its very nature a tool, a means to an end. The moment we treat it as the goal, we put the cart before the horse and sabotage ourselves.

  6. Brilliant, I especially want to highlight this bit: The right person will see your truth. Be authentic, and don't lie. Accept yourself who and how you are, decide what are the parts you don't like, and work on changing them. It will not serve us to pretend to be who we want to be, rather than who we are. In doing so, we sacrifice our power to improve ourselves, and stagnation becomes the best case scenario.

  7. Yes, this. Oh, and consider psychedelics. If this shocks you, dear reader, go back to #4 and ponder how much you truly know, and how much you might stand to learn. Psychedelics and related substances can be incredibly powerful tools for self-improvement and growth, if used carefully and properly. Like chainsaws, they can do either enormous good, or enormous damage, very quickly; however, if approached with care and respect, we can have almost all the good and almost none of the damage.

OK, I'll stop writing now. Thanks for the post and food for thought, @scorpiodragoness :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64867.61
ETH 3451.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55