You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dating, Friendships & Social Media - My experience so far

in #life7 years ago

So this post resonated with me, even from line one:

Every time I ride my bike or drive my car- my mind wanders with so many thoughts.

Yep, a lot of times when I'm road tripping alone, I'll have some really interesting conversations with myself. Sometimes these conversations and the insights that come out of them are incredibly difficult to crystallize into something that someone else can understand, but I remember during my last drive from Arkansas to St Louis, I had some fascinating ruminations about metaphysics and the nature of creating/being creative. And the ideas I had on that drive were brilliant, and they have forever refined the way I think about being creative, but I still don't know how to communicate those insights to someone else.

But I digress... ahh, yes, social media, and the general dearth of quality connections to be found there. This is another point I find myself nodding along to. How many people have I met in meatspace, and gotten along with fantastically, so before saying goodbye, we add each other on some social or messaging app, only to have all attempts at conversation online sputter and die? I have not found a way to reliably connect with others online and have those effortless conversations, where the ideas evolve and flow.

It is, in part, I suppose, due to that lack of connection in the world of connectivity that I have never been enticed into the online dating game. But more than that, it just doesn't feel right to me. I want those relationships to develop organically, and perusing through online repositories of people looking for relationships seems like exactly the kind of friendship astroturfing that I want to avoid. The approach feels like an act of desperation, not a winning strategy.

Anyways, I could ramble on, but the comment groweth long, so I'll sign off now. And my doorbell just rang, lol.

Thanks for posting :)

Sort:  

@modprobe Yes solo drives seem to bring out all of the interesting but deep thoughts about our world.

It does seem we need to be within distance to keep these relationships alive which is difficult to lead our lives the way we need to.

Yes, I agree about organic relationships! Although I see the need for people who lead busy lives and have a difficult time meeting people.

It is wonderful when with each new relationship a woman understands better and better what kind of man she needs. The requirements for the ideal candidate are specified, but sometimes these specifications become too much. Ideal candidates can be found here dating.com. If you don't use dating sites, you may find yourself in a situation where a man hasn't smiled at you yet, and you've already realized he's not going to go.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 60836.70
ETH 3352.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50