The Story of Teddy the special needs cat. pt 2 Potty training.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Hello!

Here follows Teddy's story.
Read part one here
After bringing him home from the vet we read up all we could about exercises and how to take care of a cat with a spine injury.
Lynton started doing some 'bicycle' moves with Teddy's legs every day when he got home from work.

20 January 2016- "Kitty and Lynton doing a physio session. His legs are getting stronger every day. He can stretch them out and spread his toes a bit. In order to prevent accidents, I help him empty his bladder and poop by massaging and applying pressure to his stomach."

A big part of having any kitten is litterbox training. A special add-on with a special needs cat is that you are now the mamma, and have to make sure he pees and poops regularly, otherwise you will be cleaning it up off the floor at some point. Cats have pretty constant routines so I knew 2 hours after eating he would need to go potty. I built him a ramp up into the litter box.

21 January 2016- "The first successful wee in his litter box! All by himself. Not on someone's lap/ legs or bedding! So proud of his progress :) His legs are getting stronger and he even managed to stand for 3 seconds while eating today. Keep on trooping little Teddy bear."

Even so , when he's asleep he can't control his bladder which leads to having to do a lot of laundry. So I tried this for a bit. He didn't care for it much and would actually crawl out of it very easily.

23 January- "One small kitten now with diaper attachment. Just until we can figure out how to get him to pee before nap time and not during."

Almost 2 years later this is still a problem sometimes. We have to make sure his bladder is empty before bedtime otherwise the couch gets it.

This is one of my favourite photos of him. It's still my phone backscreen. He was watching some flies.


Blurry Teddy selfie.

Have a look at his FB page for some video clips of his progress The Story of Teddy
His # is #Storyofteddy

Hope you have a good day.
Lizelle

Sort:  

You are awesome. I read part 1 and 2. I had a cat growing up that got caught in the truck when it was cranked up. =(
He was okay just scratches. You've taken such good care of this kitty. It just warms my heart. I'm assuming he has some nerve damage with the unable to control his bladder. That will probably get worse as he ages. I love his little diaper though ♡
Rstmd so others can read a wonderful story

Thank you so much @Chelsea88!
Ouch! glad your cat was okay!
He does have some nerve damage but it affects his spine from around 2 inches up from the base of his tail. He has bladder control when he is awake and we make sure he does one big pee once a day, otherwise when naptime rolls around it's a mess. He stretches his legs in his sleep and then the pressure from that triggers his bladder. It probably will get worse as he ages, but for now making sure he pee's n the mornings is just part of his routine.
Thank you for resteeming!

Yeah i was so traumatized by that as a child my now (as an adult) cats are indoor kitties only! Living In the lap of luxury obviously :)

The love that this kitty gets from her humans is wonderful ♡

Aaw, thank you :) He's my little snuggle bug. Currently curled up in his favourite spot which involves climbing up onto the couch on my right, climbing over me and the laptop, then settling down on my left. This can not be done in any other way. lol.

He is a brave kitty

@moderndragon,

Your post has caught the attention of @MuxxyBot, and I would like to nominate it to our curation team!

If your post is chosen, it would be featured in a curation post by @MuxxyBot!

An image from your post may be also featured, if your post is chosen for the curation post from @Muxxybot. This may result in you getting extra votes and exposure to your steemit post!

Please reply to this comment if you'd like to accept or decline this nomination.

Aww, What a cute little kitty, I'm sorry to hear about his struggles, but at least he had kind owners like you to help take Care him! God bless you for that. Taking the time to care for an animal that others may have abandoned is a very noble act. Great job, and i hope you guys have a happy life together! Please reply, and I'll nominate your post to the muxxybot curator team! I'd love to share this little kitties story with them! Look forward to hearing more about his story with you!

Hello @ma1neevent
Thank you so much for your kind comment. He's a small kitty with a big heart. And he knows just where to get his snuggles :)
You are welcome to share it in your post. I hope your group enjoys his story.

Kind regards
Lizelle

I am so sorry, I tried to get your post in before the payout window but it looks like it wont make it for extra votes in time. I will watch your posts and check the others and see if I can possibly nominate another from you soon. Keep us updated on this cute kitty!

Thank you so much! I missed your comment somehow. I've moved over to a new page called @simplylizelle to make @moderndragon more geared towards the dragons. I've been uploading some old video clips of Teddy there as well.

Read Teddy's story. You two are the best for taking care of him. Cats like him and just healthy cats can be a lot of work but are worth it.

Thank you@manorvillemike. He's such a sweetheart. He does take a bit of extra care which makes it a bit tricky if we need someone to watch him when we go away on holiday, but it's nothing that a carer can't be taught.
Sorry for only replying to your comment now. I've moved over to a new profile called @simplylizelle, keeping @moderndragon for the dragons and my husband's art.

I really wish I could've seen this post earlier when my vote would increase your payout. It takes a really special person to care for an animal the way you do. Your care and love is much appreciated. Now following.

Thank you for your kind words @countryinspired!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59888.38
ETH 2373.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48