How Getting Injured, Losing My Job and Going Broke Taught Me Some Necessary Lessons

in #life6 years ago (edited)

A Night Like Any Other...

Some years ago my life was perfectly on track, or so I thought. I had a university education, a good paying job, good health and a stable relationship - we talked of marriage. Then one night, I decided to walk to the shop down the street to pick up a few items. Things would never be quite the same again.

I was on the way back from the shop, just 100 feet from my place. Suddenly I was hit forcefully from behind. The next thing I knew I was laying on the sidewalk, in pain, and very shocked and confused.

ambulance-2587568_1920.jpg
Pixabay

A motorcycle coming up the street from behind me had swerved to avoid a puddle, lost control, and came up onto the sidewalk and hit me. Totally out of the blue.

My injuries included a fractured pelvis, some damaged discs in my lower back, neck injuries, and a broken left arm, among other damage. Fortunately insurance covered most of my medical expenses, but I had other things to worry about.

Going Downhill Fast

After discharge from the hospital, I could barely move. Trying to stand up or walk was a painful exercise. It was impossible for me to work. As a private contractor to large corporations, I had no access to any form of work insurance or compensation.

This situation lasted almost 2 years. I had previously enjoyed work, travel and exercise etc. These things were impossible. I became depressed. I started to drink more. And, in an act of craziness, I started to smoke. I had been a life-long non-smoker up to this point.

drinking-997189_1920.jpg
Pixabay

My relationship suffered greatly. My partner ended the relationship. I don't blame her... I was in a very dark place, as they say.

Because I had no income and my savings were rapidly disappearing, reality forced me into a reckoning with my life.

To make matters worse, much worse, my career virtually disappeared in a market crash. My kind of work (no, not banking), almost evaporated overnight. When I recovered from my injuries, there was no job to go back to. A bit like waking up from a bad dream, into a worse dream.

Making Some Changes

First I had to quit smoking and sharply reduce drinking, I couldn’t afford them. My health got better for it.

Then I had to move into a smaller place with cheaper rent. This forced me to take inventory of everything I owned. There was no room for everything in a smaller place. I went through all my clothes, books, household items etc., and picked out the few essentials. The rest I gave away, sold or threw away.

That left me literally with just a few clothes, a few books, a laptop and a phone. And my bicycle.

Good Bye Luxuries

I made a very tight budget and I stuck to it, even to the point of skipping meals to stay on budget.

Eating out was too expensive, so I always cooked at home. I actually learned a little about cooking. I learned the cheapest places to shop for everything. I bought food at the supermarket at the time of day/night when they mark unsold items down.

I never wasted food. I created combinations to use everything. I cooked simply and quickly.

I reduced my electricity use as much as possible. I saved water. I stopped cable TV. In fact, I sold my TV.

I got rid of my car. I walked, rode my bike or took public transport.

bicycle-362171_1280.jpg
Uplash

I bought second hand clothes in good shape. I read books at libraries. I volunteered at a senior’s center, getting one free meal a day in exchange for cleaning for a few hours.

After I healed well enough to exercise, there was no money for gym membership. I created an effective exercise program I could do at home with no equipment. I got stronger.

Free Things

I researched free attractions and events. I found a surprising number of free museums, performances etc. Parks and people watching became a thing. I finally learned how to play chess properly.

I even attended an instructional talk on ‘dumpster diving’, or ‘urban salvaging’, as it is termed. Link This was a bit humiliating for me, a hard pill to swallow. A big come-down from a well-paying job. But reality doesn't care much for our sensibilities.

dump.jpg
Image By Carlos. A. Martinez - Source

But, it was surprising how much good food supermarkets throw away. It turns out to be $165 billion / year, an amazing waste. Link

Note – please research dumpster diving before you try it, to avoid breaking laws or eating food that could make you sick.

In The End

It was years before I was able to return to my previous career. I had lost touch during my recovery time. The few jobs available went to others with stable contacts. I got by on part-time work, volunteering and a little out-source work. Not ideal, but something.

Then slowly, I climbed back up to something resembling my former life, but without all the excess baggage.

I have eliminated any ‘unnecessities’ that cost money. My life is very simple, with simple possessions, simple needs. But I also learned that there are a lot of things I don’t need, in fact don’t want.

I’m much more grateful for what I have. And a lot more compassionate for those without. I am very aware that at any time, just in a flash, one can lose everything – health, job, love and even life itself.

person-690130_1280.jpg

As I look back, I realize that I was never really aware or appreciative of how fortunate I was for my health, my work and my partner.

I won’t make that mistake again.



*All images from Pixabay, unless otherwise specified.

Sort:  

Great post! Really well written and an inspiring story. Thanks for sharing.

Glad you liked it, thank you!

just submitted this wonderful post to Curie bro! love the message this post brings!

@andywong31 - Thank you, much appreciated!

Wao beautiful post nice

Thank you very much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02