To Everyone Celebrating 4th of July

in #life7 years ago

flag day.png

I came online this morning and the internet is inundated with well wishers. Happy 4th of July to all Americans and so on and so forth.... the same message written differently and it's a nice gesture, don't get me wrong.

There are also other posts saying that patriotism no matter what country is a scourge and disease of the governments and humanity... there is a point in those statements as well...

I currently live in Cancun Mexico and last year I did spend the fourth of July in my home country the U.S.A. While celebrations and barbecues took place I didn't participate. You see it's suppose to be a celebration of "Independence"... A seperation from a common government we shared at one time.

My grandfather fought in WWII ...was shot on four seperate occasions and they kept sending him back to the front lines in Germany. Amongst several commendations he did receive the purple heart after the fourth bullet struck him in the ass. He was a patriot, moreso than his grandson could ever become...

The ideals and times have changed and so to has my country...

I am unfortunately ashamed at my current government, I too remember what my country once stood for... "I too put my money where my mouth is" and left when the current administration came into office. To all those veterans and their families of past wars who paid the ultimate sacrifice for my freedom... I thank you and you are the ones who should be celebrated today.

I hope and pray that my country will awake from its idiotic slumber and remember our past when we were a much better society than what we've become.

Most Americans do not realize that the Declaration of Independence was formally declared on July 2, 1776, a date that John Adams believed would be “the most memorable epocha in the history of America.” On July 4, 1776, the Continental Congress approved the final text of the Declaration. It wasn't signed until August 2, 1776.

WHEN in the Course of human Events, it becomes necessary for one People to dissolve the Political Bands which have connected them with another, and to assume among the Powers of the Earth, the separate and equal Station to which the Laws of Nature and of Nature’s God entitle them, a decent Respect to the Opinions of Mankind requires that they should declare the causes which impel them to the Separation.

These are the words at the begining of the Declaration of Independence.

US-original-Declaration-1776.jpg

All I want is My government to STOP starting WAR(s) under the pretense of Independence... then I shall celebrate.

Ímage Source 1

Ímage Source 2

follow mithrilweed.png

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mithrilweed from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Well said patriot!

Thank you very much... It is strange to hear someone call me patriot. I know that others have done much more than I to deserve such a title.

All who support freedom are patriots in my eyes. Those true patriots that gave up everything to make freedom a reality in their time are true heroes. They must be turning in their graves to see what it has become today.

I can actually trace my ancestry back to William Hooper (signer) who was one of the first congressmen and also a soldier in the militia. It is sad to see how far we have fallen from those original ideas and become the monstrosity that we fought against with so much heart.

They have, many of them sacrificed their lives. It is our duty to honor them and never forget them and I think that this is exactly what you did.

Well written patriot!

Yesssss!! I agree whole-heartedly. Love the snippet from The Newsroom . . . must have watched it 4 times in a row.

Followed and Ty for the feed back looking forward to learning more about you in the future~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67334.64
ETH 3519.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.10