The Fine Line of Balancing Screen Time vs. Real Time

in #life8 years ago (edited)

Not sure about you, but I find my admiration for the steemit community motivates me to be active posting , curating and interacting in the various groups on discord.

All this is great, I love when people read and comment on my posts. I enjoy getting involved in the chats and the STP podcasts.


There is one theme that is constant with all of that though.

Screen Time

It's awesome to network and meet people I would not otherwise meet if not for the internet, especially if not for steemit.

However, there is something to be said for being out and about in society. Physical presence is an integral part of human interaction. Well, atleast in my opinion it is.

I spend all day in front of a computer screen for work. Then I do it some more to participate in steemit. Many times my whole day is spent in front of a screen.

Is this good? Is this bad?

The answer is probably a matter of opinion or even mood.

However, I am constantly working to balance the two out. Give work and steemit the attention it needs and deserves while still physically participating in society.

Real Time

In my opinion this is anything that involves physical presence of others. Skype does not count..lol!

Plus there seems to be a difference between "screen time" and "real time" relationships.

The Comfort of Your Screen

Recently I listened to a podcast (cannot recall the title) and it interview a bunch of people who had met and developed a romantic relationship online only to finally meet weeks, months, even years later.

There was an interesting phenomenon - just about all of them were awkward experience.

The story book embrace and happily ever after did not seem to play out.

Why is that?

Well, there are many reasons it could be. My theory is that the dynamic of screen time vs. real time slapped them with some reality.

In front of the screen you safe so to speak. You can share what you want, show what you want. You also have an "idea" of what the other person is. In real life, you kind of lose this buffer and you also find out if your "idea" is right or wrong.

However, you also lose that comfort. That comfort of being home in your space in front of a screen giving this person only what you are comfortable with.

In essence you feel comfortable as opposed to feeling exposed, thus feeling uncomfortable. This is not to say a person has been "exposed" it's just how you may feel when in the physical person of an online romance.

Anyway

Really was just spewing out some random thoughts and doing some reflecting as opposed to pushing opinions.

Steem on!


Regards,
Mitchell J
Thanks for the pic pixabay

Sort:  

I can relate to this a lot as I am in the same position. Have a computer job and then come home to do more computer stuff?

There needs to be balance for sure. I do like the quote "anything you spend time doing that you like is not wasted time". I enjoy my participation on steemit so its not considered a waste of time to me.

I have an almost two year old and she has a couple shows that she likes. By later in the evening both myself and the mother are so worn out from the day that it is hard to keep up with her energy and TV is something that calms her and make her manageable so we can take a moment. I made the mistake of turning off the TV last night at bedtime and she threw a fit, has me wandering how much is too much for her also.

Like that quote and agree with it so long as it doesn't affect my health.

Screen in 0ne's face allday is definitely not healthy! Need some real time ;)
I enjoyed the post by the way

Glad you enjoyed. My thoughts exactly, literally look for reasons to get away from my screen these days. Oh how times have changed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60140.96
ETH 2378.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59