When TV is off...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

First of all I'd like to apologize for delay in posting. I get some flu or inflamed sinuses, which cause fever and few days in bad. I wrote something, but decide not to publish after read it next morning. I couldn't go through. Too many mistakes and no real story in it. So, I'm sorry for delay.

As I said, I spent few days in bad, which is not my natural entertainment. I tied to read books, but I had to clean my nose more often than turn the page, that it was pointless. I decided to watch some TV. I watched some CSI series, some old comedies, but in the end I always end up on news channel. And because it was really close to French election, and UK PM just said that she will give another chance to people to show how much they love her, there was enough to paid attention to. It drew me so easily, that I couldn't go sleep without TV and sleep timer on. I don't why, but I can easily see how watching TV can become an addiction. Now I understand why on some new portals, you can see 'news' from soap operas, that some 'fake' person died or cheat husband, whatever. My second thought was, that I started to become more afraid of surrounded world. I started to believe that North Korea is really a thread for World Peace.

Fortunately, I just switched off TV and get back to normal. I'll be honest with you. It's really akward moment, after display go black and silence come. Brain doesn't know, what's going on. It was in passive mode for so much time, that going to active again takes it few moment. I think, this is why I had to go asleep with TV on. Cause if I switched before, my brain will kick on, and start to analyze all the fact and so on, and I won't be able to fall a sleep.
So when you switched off TV, what I recommend for you, please hold this 5 maybe 10 minutes of silence. Try not to find something else to do, something that will put you brain in passive mode again. Fell uncomfortable for a moment. And then, it will hit you. You won't see it's coming, but you'd know when it came. First you will notice, that there is no apocalypse coming and that it really doesn't matter 'who attacked Ken' (Coronation Street). You active brain may even notice, that were lazy for few years, and didn't feed it to well. It could force you to read something, go to theater or listen some classical music. I'm not saying you become a philosopher in one week, but maybe you will become aware of what is really going on in YOUR life, and how to live it more actively.

When I watch something, I don't feel time passing by. I'm not really in my home, I'm with artificial people, living artificial life. I know, that sometimes this is all we need. But we need to be aware of it. Control it. And stop to blindly believe in everything that's in TV, specially news. And please, if you use TV to rise you're kids, check the content.

So please, switched off your TVs and turn on your brains ;)

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Apr 25. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $2.81 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 25 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56095.11
ETH 2533.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23