Still trying to understand the HoverKart – a product review.

in #life6 years ago

I am always trying to get the kids outside. As a result we have skateboards, snakeboards, inline skates, penny boards and scooters as well as cycles! It may sound a lot, but they are pretty much all used. I have always refused get involved in any debates about hover boards because as far as I am concerned kids don’t need batteries – their transport should help to keep them fit and improve their balance while having fun.

However, we were at an organised event and there was the chance to try a HoverKart. I was pretty ignorant about these, but my youngest was really enthusiastic and immediately queued up for his free go. He took to it really quickly and had a brilliant time.

What I cannot understand is where you are supposed to use these things! They are not really suitable for pavements (too bumpy). They aren’t for skateparks – so when do you use them?

An internet search has left me no more enlightened. It seems that there are a lot of maufacturers who have created these karts to add to a hover board.

So my product review on this is simple. If you have a hover board you should go and buy the kart option because I can vouch for the fact that kids love it! If however you don’t have a hover board I would not buy one – if they were that great as a board people would not need to find new ways to use them. I think the whole concept of the hover board was fundamentally flawed. There was simply not enough ways to keep them interesting. I have spent too long watching youtube videos about this, and yes there are tricks – but I don’t think they can compete with either a skateboard, snakeboard or scooter. So if in doubt, save your money and go with leg power rather than battery power.

If you are not sure what a HoverKart is, here is a sketch of my son on the one he tried.

tom cart sketch.JPG

Sort:  

Thanks for the sketch @mirriek!

I think it's good that your children play outside often, but is it hot over there?

I know there is a heatwave in places like California and Nevada but I am not sure what the weather is like in Europe.

P.S. We have a playroom for baby Zac but do not have a good back-yard or front-yard, and the street facing our house is a busy street!

We have had a heatwave this summer, so we have spent more time at the beach than boarding, however we are having a picnic with friends today at the skatepark. It will be quite a gang of kids ranging from 2 to 14!

When we were in London we had not outside space at all in our apartment and the apartment was too small for a playroom, so I spend most of my days at the park. I think being outside became a habit.

I am grateful for that now because the boys are at an age when they really want to play computer games so it is great to have other distractions.

Zac is still very little, once he is fully mobile you may find it easier to be outside than in- it also tires them out so they sleep well :)

Yeah @mirriek I understand.

@brian.rrr likes having his kids play outside too and I think both of you are doing things right!

What age do you think is a good start for a young toddler to play in the sand at the beach?

Baby Zac is going to be 14 months next month but he hasn't played in the sand yet. I asked my wife and she said "soon".

I'd be very interested in your feedback and experience on this matter. Btw, baby Zac loves swimming!

We were in London when the kids were little, but we had an amazing play group just around the corner and we were there every morning. They had everything; paints, play-doe, climbing frame and a sand pit.

We first went there when my eldest was just crawling so he was probably about 5 months when he discovered the sand pit. My poor youngest was there at just three days old because I had to look after both of them.

Kids will love sand, mud, paints etc at any age - just go when you feel ready to cope with the chaos - because I guarantee it will be stressful and hard work aswell as brilliant fun.

Ahh okay @mirriek it's great to know that your son handled the sand pit well at 5 months old - that means that Zac should be old enough at 14 months.


I didn't think about it being stressful. I guess I should really make sure that we remember to bring the wet tissues to clean off the sand when he gets dirty, or at least for once he is done playing.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mirriek from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28