You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: THE LONGEST COMMENT EVER POSTED ON STEEMIT

in #life7 years ago

@sift666, I found your article moving and insightful. First up, keeping in mind your handicap when typing, I have to commend you for the fact that I only saw one teensy error, and it is an article of note (and I am a bit OCD when it comes to langauge!)

Regarding images: I once saw a single comment in a ladies' magazine, and for some reason it really stuck - it was said that every page should have at least one image, and that you actually lose readers if an article consists of the written word alone. I can relate. It is not just because I am a WO-man, it is because I am a HU-man. Therefore, the more images, the better, as long as they are of good quality. And yours are; I enjoy them greatly.

THEN: What is art? I am also a complete right-brainer - thoughtful, subjective and very much intuitive. I have tried my hand at painting with different media. I have done ceramics in my time. I made the most beautiful cross-stitch embroidery pieces. Right now I am going wild for two things: coloring in other people's line drawings, and crocheting. And I love writing (by the way, Afrikaans being my home language, I also sometimes struggle putting my ideas in order for posting, because I now have to start thinking in my second language). Yes, these are not exactly "art" in the traditional way that most people understand it to be. But I create beautiful things. I have a friend who creates absolutely stunning photos. So do you. As much as Michelangelo created art with paint on a blank canvas, my crochet blankets can be called pieces of art. As much as Michelangelo created art with paint on a blank canvas, your photographs can be called pieces of art.

In Dutch: "doe zo voort". Keep on doing what you are doing and believe in your heart that you are an artist. I know you are!

Sort:  

It had a lot of editing! - before that it almost looked like it might be a new language, free of all punctuation...

Thanks for your lovely comments

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60860.94
ETH 2672.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62