When was the last time you visited the "introduceyourself" tag??

in #life6 years ago

57752813-welcome-greeting-introduction-words-letters-3d-illustration.jpg

Image Source

Hello everyone!

I am a proud member of this platform for almost nine full months. Joined in mid January when steem's price was sitting on 4$+. Everything seemed to be working just fine back then. Everyone was so optimistic about the future of Steemit / steem (some of us still are)!

But the reason I made this post isn't to talk about prices and other stuff that we use to talk about all day long, but to highlight a major - at least in my yes - issue. And it is called introduceyourself.

I still remember my introduction post. It was not a novel or something, but those who were about to read it, they would definitely get an idea of what kind of person I am and what are the reasons why I decided to join this community.

So since my feed keeps dying lately (obviously steem's price in one of the reasons) I decided to visit this tag tonight and spend some time reading introduction posts. And guess what I found out. 8 out of 10 posts are below average quality...and trust me the word average is probably a compliment.

Now of course I don't blame those guys, don't get me wrong here....it's just obvious that people who join Steemit need guidance. From all of us. That is how this platform is going to grow. We can't really forget that we were all newcomers at some point...right? How could we?

Now unless we want people to make a couple of posts and then quit because nobody cares, how about to reverse this procedure? If we could all find 10 spare minutes daily and help a few of these accounts grow? Wouldn't they be motivated to keep trying?

I still remember my first couple of posts...I think I even got a couple of votes from @roadscape back then. Man...I was jumping like a 10 year old kid.... Of course it was only for a couple of times as I said...but it was enough for me not to quit and keep pushing. (@roadscape if you are reading this I wanna thank you for keeping me in the game)

Credits of course must go to @stellabelle because this whole thing was her idea on the first place. She pushed people to visit that tag and actually bring back proofs in order to enter the banana project.

So long story short, I spent much time reading introduction posts today and commented on those, whose authors will possibly contribute to Steemit's ecosystems. Of course I upvoted their posts and also gave them a follow, so that I can keep an eye on their progress.

2018-09-22 22_43_44-SteemWorld ~ @mindtrap.png

Some of them actually have already found support and at this point I want to give a thumbs up to @rok-sivante who obviously spends some time doing the same thing.

At this point I want to clear out that there might be really high quality introduction posts written in Spanish or Chinese etc, but unfortunately I don't speak those languages :(

In any case I think it would help if all of us could look at that direction...it could mean the world to a newcomer....

99ECC04D-DBE1-4290-ACB7-2035439DFD74.jpeg

Until next time...
Stay awesome!
Cheers @mindtrap

Sort:  

I curate the #introduceyourself tag each week for the @MinnowSupport Project, and it is always a challenge to find good original intros! I do a weekly curation feature on the ones I do find if you want to check it out sometime @mindtrap

Msp is everywhere! Of course I will check it @ma1neevent

Wow. You're right. Can't fault your logic. Why would people stay if noone cares about them? Of course, people need to look after themselves in this world, but sometimes, other people can chip in and help others, just for the heck of it. Good point, @mindtrap. :0

Thanks @rodneysreviews
Of course people need to take care of themselves but unless we all help others grow we will eventually end up with empty feeds...

Thank you for this timely reminder. We all want Steemit to grow and we should encourage our new members. Together we can grow together.

Posted using Partiko Android

Exactly my point @positivesteem!
Thanks for stopping by.

Yes, you are absolutely right, could not agree more! I read a lot in the "introduceyourself" section, daily, and I have made the same experiences as you!

There are so many amazing projects to support Newbies with a lot of love and effort put into, but in my view, there is still much more engagement needed. In the end, it is about the future of us all here!

I consider myself still a Newbie, joint 2 months ago. I was so lucky that I have been picked up and supported by the amazing @welcomewagon family. I had to learn a lot and still learn every day. Writing good posts that are valuable to the community is not easy. It's not only about markdown and other technical things, but it's also and most (at least for me) about finding a home within the community, finding friends, that support you, help to grow.

For me it's all about the people here, learning from others, sharing thoughts and what we have learned in life and of course about fun!
Thus every single new account could potentially hold a rough diamond, how will we make new friends here, if we never get a chance to learn who they are, or see similarities in order to connect as they vanish from the platform before we even met them ...

Have a most beautiful Sunday @mindtrap!

It is really nice to know that you have found your family here. After all this is all about. Find people to interact who share the same ideas, vision etc same as you. It is our duty to help others so that we can all move forward...

Thanks for your kind words and for stopping by @anutu

Yes, absolutely, it's our duty!

i read the post yesterday before i go to sleep :P then i went quickly to the intro tag to challenge myself whether i could find under 2 minutes a quality intro. Sort story short i couldn't :P Today though i will increase it at 10 minutes :P

:0 For two minutes?? Hahaha. I spent almost 3 hours to discover 5 /6 good intros...Cmon...you can do better mate :Ρ

yes my eyes were closing and my bed was calling! :P but i pledged at my last post that each day i will try and find at least one random quality post, upvote it and make a comment. In fact i already checked in the intro post for about 7-8 minutes and found one person to whom i did what i said above!

one small step for man one giant leap for mankind!

Great post. I will do this today. I remember my first days here and thanks to people like @donkeypong and @pharesim who upvoted many of my early posts.

Posted using Partiko iOS

It’s nice to have support on your early days. It keeps you motivated and you keep trying harder!
@pharesim and @donkeypong are individuals who actually...care!

Lots of it is also just spam and scammers abusing that tag or preying on newbies! I’ve been on a bit of a flagging mission myself since I’ve made visiting the intro tag a regular practice of mine

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeah I’ve noticed that also....shame actually! Prople should use their creativity to produce something good for the platform, instead, they try to game it...

This is really a great wake up call from you. I found this post through @stellabelle resteem. I can tell you it has not been like before. Introduceyourself is one of the tags many people overlook. I am a culprit as well. Recently, I introduced two people to the platform and before I could guide them on the rules of engagement here they already did introduce me post. I didnt know until yesterday that they already did 6days ago. This is due to my not been active for close to a week. They had little engagement on their introductory post, but I am happy they gave it a shot and I will try to encourage them to stay. My stay here was facilitated by the upvote of around 20usd i got from the Spanish community through @cervantes. If not, maybe I would have left. Thank for giving us this mind poking post again.

Thank you for your kind words @turpsy!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mindtrap from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

have a fine day.

Have a nice day too my friend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86