An Incredible 3000 Year Old Alternative to Alcohol

in #life8 years ago

(Image Source)

"There's a little café up the street that serves some kind of relaxing herbal drink... want to check it out?" my friend casually asked one night, several years ago.

I responded immediately, "Sure, why not?" I didn’t know what I was getting myself into, but I was about to get my first taste of a wonderful drink called kava.

We arrived early in the afternoon and sat down on barstools at the island-themed "kava bar" in Boca Raton, FL. It had a calm atmosphere and was somewhat busy.

We each ordered one drink, served in dried coconut shells. It looked and smelled like muddy water. We clinked shells, said bula (Fijian for cheers), and as instructed, washed it down in one big gulp. It tasted earthy and moderately unpleasant.

We mentioned this to the bartender who casually replied that you didn't drink it for the taste. Ten minutes later I was deeply relaxed yet entirely clear headed. I was in love.

(The Queen Approves!)

And kava, it turns out, is a fantastic alternative to alcohol.

It’s safer, non-addictive, natural, and most importantly, won't cause you to lose control over your self.

For more than 3000 years, the South Pacific Islanders have celebrated this special plant. To this day, it remains a cornerstone of their culture; a celebrated aspect of their religious ceremonies, social lives, and politics. To the natives of Vanuatu, Fiji, and many other South Pacific island nations, it has been a cherished tradition for millennia.

To the rest of the world, it has remained primarily unknown until fairly recently.

What is Kava?

In the last decade, kava has made its presence known to Western culture in a big way. So what exactly is kava?

Kava is a relaxing tea, made from the roots of the kava plant (Piper Methysticum). It's grown and cultivated in the South Pacific Islands and exported to the rest of the world.

According to the folks over at kavaforums.com:

The effects of Kava can be felt within 5 minutes, and last for about 3-5 hrs on average, but can be felt for up to eight hours. Some report longer-term effects, including a feeling of mental clarity, patience, and an ease of acceptance for days after ingestion.

Effects include:

One of the best properties of kava is that it relaxes and eases stress and anxiety but does not make one "loopy", "hazy" or in any way mentally impaired. Kava has been demonstrated to be a very effective treatment for anxiety; equal to Buspirone and Opipramol and more effective than valerian or St. John's Wort, without the side effects associated with benzodiazepines such as tolerance and negative cognitive effects and sedation.

Drinking Kava:

Kava is typically consumed in kava bars, traditionally known as nakamals.

But in recent years, these small cafés that serve kava drinks have started to pop up in other parts of the world, especially the US. In South Florida alone there are now well over a dozen.

I've been an avid kava drinker for years now. The kava bars I visit locally tend to have a devoted following of regular customers who hang out and socialize as they drink kava together. Everyone is laid back and friendly. Kava lacks the aggressive effect that often accompanies alcohol consumption.

If you want to try it and there isn't a kava bar near you, you can order it online and make it at home. There are many reputable vendors, but of all of them, I'll recommend a few of my favorites.

Noble Kava: One of my favorite vendors for years now. They maintain strict standards of quality and take up several humanitarian causes to support the villages in Vanuatu where their kava comes from.

Gourmet Hawaiian Kava: This is a relatively new discovery for me. GHK offers extremely high quality strains of kava, grown locally on their farm in Hawaii. They even offer free shipping

Kalm with Kava: A wonderful vendor that offers all their kava products on Amazon Prime. If you're a member, it's hard to beat the 2 day free shipping!

It’s fairly simple to make at home but requires a little bit of set up. Noble Kava offers these instructions.

A Word of Caution:

As with everything in life, make sure to practice moderation. Everybody's biology is different so it's a good idea to start slowly and make sure you aren't negatively affected.

Also, Kava has what is known as a reverse tolerance. Unlike alcohol, where the more you drink, the higher your tolerance gets, with kava it’s the opposite. The more often you drink it, the less it takes to feel the effects. Because of this, some people may not experience any effects the first several times they drink kava. The active ingredient in kava, called kavalactones, have to build up in your system first.

Like all natural products, kava can cause side effects for some people. It has been reported to cause headaches, nausea, and double vision, though most of the time this is directly caused by drinking too much at once. Drinking kava too frequently can also dry out your skin, though this is completely reversible. There are no reported cases of death caused by kava overdose.

Additionally, according to Bulakavahouse.com:

Years ago there was a report of some liver health issues connected with kava use that led to kava restrictions in some countries (never in the US). Subsequent studies have proven traditional kava to be safe and has led to the end of almost all kava restrictions. Kava has been enjoyed regularly by the people of the South Pacific for thousands of years and there is no evidence that people in these cultures suffer higher than normal levels of liver problems."

That being said, if you have a history of liver problems, it’s probably best to avoid kava altogether. It's not worth the risk.

Best Practices:

Lastly, I don't recommend kava supplement products found in many health and nutrition stores. These products are often overpriced and contain low quantities of kavalactones.

The best way to consume kava is when it's prepared in the traditional way, with water and ground kava root. Though, instant kava products are great alternative as well. Just like instant coffee, you add water and you’re ready to go!

I find kava to be delightful alternative to alcohol. And I hope you will too!

If you decide to try kava, or have tried it before, leave a comment! I'd love to hear your thoughts. Bula!

Sort:  

Fascinating! I might have to order some and try it.

It's good stuff!

My SO and I stayed on a Fijian island with some friends (turned out to be the chief's family!) for a week or so and enjoyed MANY nights of kava-drinking. You're right - tastes about like dishwater, but it's got such an interesting effect on the mind and body that "you don't drink it for the taste" - for sure. There's this neat alkaloid feeling on the tongue, then sort of a buzzy-numbness that spreads to your body... but NOT your mind. It's not unheard of for Fijians to have to crawl home from a night of drinking kava because while the mind is fine, the body is a tad unresponsive.
On the island, the kava circle would clap three times as you began to drink. The one drinking (only one drinks at a time - the cup is passed around the circle), was supposed to say something that sounded like, "Muddha!" after downing the contents of the cup.
Bula!

That's awesome that you got to drink Kava in FIJI. I would love to do that one day. I had it in Kona, Hawaii once and it was awesome. They make it from the fresh roots. It was incredible!

Kavalactones huh? I did not know that :) I am going to stop into the Kavasutra here in NYC and maybe pick up to bring home so I can build up my kavalactones. I'll let ya know! You look happy :)

If you can get it to go in a bottle, might be the easiest way. It's not hard to make it, but it's a little bit of a hassle for sure.

I don't mind making it. I make kombucha!

Great info. Very keen to try this and they sell it on Amazon!! Hot damn that makes it nice and simple!

Thanks! And the Kalm with Kava brand that you can get on Amazon is great!

i used to drink kava, i'd almost forgotten about it. i wonder how it would add to my bulletproof coffee. it might take some of the edge off.

Ah man, I definitely wouldn't mix it with your bulletproof coffee and I LOVE bulletproof coffee. I would definitely drink it separately... it has a super earthy kind of taste.

maybe you're right. thanks for reminding me of the kava.

After reading your post, I think I need some kava as well. I have never heard about this tea or ingredient before. You have shared a lot of information about it, I like the warning of people suffering from liver ailments to be careful about the use of kava. Great article.

Thanks! If you try it I hope you like it as much as I do.

My Tongan brother-in-law has a large family, and they're all kava drinkers. So I know a little bit about it.

Thanks for posting.

Have you ever tried it?

I'm afraid not. Of course, I've never been invited. My brother-in-law's family only drinks it ceremonially (though some of them need little reason to start having a ceremony, if it comes to that). As a cultural thing, it's somewhere that I need to tread carefully. And, to be honest, I'm not that curious.

That's interesting. I've never seen a kava ceremony but I would love to be a part of one, one day. I either make it at home or drink it at one of the local kava bars in South Florida.

Coming from Hawaii, I would go with to the Kava Kava Bar and have a few. I couldn't really get used to the grittyness. The flavor was 'earthy'. Good stuff!

Which kava bar would you goto in Hawaii? I actually went to a couple when I was there.

I never heard of this before but now I'm anxious to try it! Great article. Thanks for sharing.

You're welcome! I hope you enjoy it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65353.52
ETH 2654.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84